Personal tools
You are here: Home Membership Bulletin March 30, 2010: ACM Awards Recognize Computing Innovators
Document Actions

March 30, 2010: ACM Awards Recognize Computing Innovators

ACM Bulletin Service
Today's Topic: ACM Awards Recognize Computing Innovators
March 30, 2010

Today ACM announced the winners of six prestigious awards for their innovations in computing technology that demonstrate the benefits of computational thinking for industry, education, and society.

The winners are:

Mihir Bellare and Phillip Rogaway, the Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award, for their development of practice-oriented provable security, which has resulted in high quality, cost-effective cryptography, a key component for Internet security in an era of explosive growth in online transactions.

VMware Workstation 1.0, the Software System Award, for bringing virtualization technology to modern computing environments, spurring a shift to virtual-machine architectures, and allowing users to efficiently run multiple operating systems on their desktops.

Michael Jordan, the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award, for fundamental advances in statistical machine learning, a field which develops computational methods for inference and decision-making based on data.

Tim Roughgarden, the Grace Murray Hopper Award, for introducing novel techniques that quantify lost efficiency with the uncoordinated behavior of network users who act in their own self-interest.

Matthias Felleisen, the Karl V. Karlstom Outstanding Educator Award, for his visionary and long-standing contributions to K-12 outreach programs.

Gregory D. Abowd, the Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics, for promoting a vision of health care and education that incorporates the use of advanced information technologies to address difficult challenges relating to the diagnosis and treatment of behavioral disorders such as autism.

ACM will present these and other awards at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 26, in San Francisco, CA.

Learn more, view the ACM Press Release or visit the ACM Awards site.