Document Actions

2007 ACM A.M. Turing Award

ACM Awards

ACM recognizes excellence through its eminent series of awards for outstanding technical and professional achievements and contributions in computer science and information technology.

The ACM A.M. Turing Award award

The A.M. Turing Award was named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing, and who was a key contributor to the Allied cryptanalysis of the German Enigma cipher during World War II. Since its inception in 1966, the Turing Award has honored the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry.

ACM's most prestigious technical award is accompanied by a prize of $250,000. It is given to an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community. The contributions should be of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field. Financial support of the Turing Award is provided by the Intel Corporation and Google Inc.

ACM will present the Turing Award at the annual ACM Awards Banquet on June 21, 2008, in San Francisco, CA.

2007 Recipients:

Edmund M. Clarke

E. Allen Emerson

Joseph Sifakis


For their role in developing Model-Checking into a highly effective verification technology, widely adopted in the hardware and software industries.

Edmund M. Clarke

clarkeDr. Clarke is the FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. He has served on the editorial boards of numerous journals and is the former editor-in-chief of Formal Methods in Systems Design. He is a co-founder with Robert Kurshan, Amir Pnueli, and Joseph Sifakis of the International Conference on Computer Aided Verification (CAV) and serves on the steering committee. He received a Technical Excellence Award from the Semiconductor Research Corporation in 1995, and the IEEE Harry M. Goode Memorial Award in 2004. He is a Fellow of ACM and the IEEE Computer Society, and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2005. Dr. Clarke was awarded a B.A. degree in mathematics from the University of Virginia and a M.A. degree in mathematics from Duke University. He earned a Ph.D. degree in computer science from Cornell University, and has taught at Duke University and Harvard University.

View the Author Profile Page in the ACM Digital Library for Edmund M Clarke.

Additional information on Edmund M. Clarke.

E. Allen Emerson

emersonDr. Emerson is an Endowed Professor in Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin. He was a co-recipient of the 2006 Test-of-Time Award from the IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS) for his research on efficient Model Checking in the propositional mu-calculus, a highly expressive temporal logic, with Chin-Laung Lei. He has served on the editorial boards of several leading journals in applied logic and formal methods, including ACM Transactions on Computational Logic, Formal Aspects of Computing, and Formal Methods in Systems Design. He serves on the steering committee of the International Symposium on Automated Technology for Verification and Analysis (ATVA) as well as the International Conference on Verification, Model Checking, and Abstract Interpretation (VMCAI). Dr. Emerson received a B.S. degree in mathematics from University of Texas at Austin, and a Ph.D. in applied mathematics from Harvard University.

View the Author Profile Page in the ACM Digital Library for E. Allen Emerson.

Additional information on E. Allen Emerson.

Joseph Sifakis


Dr. Sifakis is the founder of Verimag Laboratory, a leading research center for embedded systems in Grenoble, France, where he was director from 1993-2006. He is Research Director of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, and Director of the CARNOT Institute on Intelligent Software and Systems in Grenoble. Dr. Sifakis is a member of the editorial board of several journals, and the scientific coordinator of the Artist2 and ArtistDesign European Networks of Excellence on Embedded Systems Design. He is co-founder with Edmund Clarke, Robert Kurshan, and Amir Pnueli of the International Conference on Computer Aided Verification (CAV). He earned a degree in electrical engineering from the Technical University of Athens and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Grenoble

View the Author Profile Page in the ACM Digital Library for Joseph Sifakis.

Additional information on Joseph Sifakis.

2007 A. M Turing Award Press Release

Read ACM’s Press Release on the 2007 A.M. Turing Award recipients.

2007 ACM A.M. Turing Award News Coverage

View the news coverage on the 2007 A.M. Turing Award.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.