Personal tools
You are here: Home Press Room Current Year News Releases 2013 ACM Turing Award Laureates to Meet with Young Scientists at First Forum for Computing and Math Luminaries
Document Actions

ACM Turing Award Laureates to Meet with Young Scientists at First Forum for Computing and Math Luminaries

Heidelberg Conference Aimed at Strengthening Foundations of Technology

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold

pdf logo Printable PDF file

NEW YORK, September 17, 2013 – More than 25 ACM Turing Award winners ranging from current honorees Shafi Goldwasser and Silvio Micali to previous recipients Manual Blum, Juris Hartmanis, Robert Kahn, Alan Kay, Raj Reddy, Ivan Sutherland, and others, will gather at the inaugural Heidelberg Laureate Forum September 22-27, to share information and insights with 200 young researchers from around the world.  The Forum, in Heidelberg, Germany, joins recipients of the ACM Turing Award, the highest honor in computing and computer science, with winners of two prestigious awards in mathematics, the Abel Prize and the Fields Medal, to attract and inspire the next generation of innovators.  The event is aimed at creating an environment for personal communication among people dedicated to science, role models, and young researchers to bolster the number of students engaged in advancing technology in the digital age.

ACM President Vinton Cerf, an ACM Turing Award recipient, cited the critical role that computing plays in driving innovation in the global era.  “Computational skills are being deployed across diverse disciplines as invaluable tools to solve some of the world’s most intractable problems,” he observed.  “We need to foster environments that appeal to our scientific leaders, students and researchers who dream about making a difference in their world.  This forum offers an ideal venue for finding the vision, trust, encouragement and technical expertise that can mobilize interactions between the innovators who have changed the world and the young scientists who will follow them.” 

Managing Director and Distinguished Scientist at Microsoft Research Jennifer Chayes, who co-chairs the ACM Heidelberg Forum Committee, celebrated the collaboration.   “This gathering is a rare opportunity for eager young scientists and researchers to develop relationships with award-winning mathematicians and computer scientists who can inspire, encourage, and enrich their ambitions and aspirations,” she said.   Its high-profile participants have the power to promote these fundamental problem-solving skills that are so critical to advances in science and technology throughout the world, and to draw more men and women to the computing field.” 
The ACM A.M. Turing Award, widely considered the "Nobel Prize in Computing," carries a $250,000 prize, with financial support provided by Intel Corporation and Google Inc.  It was named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing, and who was a key contributor to the Allied cryptanalysis of the German Enigma cipher and the German “Tunny” encoding machine in World War II. Since its inception in 1966, the Turing Award has honored the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry. 

About ACM
ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence.  ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking. 

About the Heidelberg Laureate Forum
The Heidelberg Forum was initiated by the Klaus Tschira Stiftung (KTS), a German foundation supporting the natural sciences, mathematics and computer science, and the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS). It is organized in collaboration with the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM; Turing Award), the International Mathematical Union (IMU; Fields Medal) and the Norwegian Academy for Science and Letters (DNVA; Abel Prize).  It is modeled after the annual meetings of Nobel laureates in Lindau, Germany.  

About Klaus Tschira Foundation
The Klaus Tschira Stiftung (KTS) is a German foundation which promotes the sciences, mathematics and computer science. HITS (Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies) is the research institute of the Klaus Tschira Foundation.

# # #