# acm

The Association for Computing Machinery Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

**CONTACT**: Virginia Gold

212-626-0505 vgold@acm.org

### ACM NAMES 47 DISTINGUISHED MEMBERS FOR COMPUTING INNOVATIONS

## 2010 Recipients Hail from Leading International Universities and Industries

**NEW YORK, NY,** November 16, 2010 -- ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) <a href="https://www.acm.org">www.acm.org</a> has named 47 of its members as Distinguished Members in recognition of their individual contributions to practical and theoretical aspects of computing that drive innovation and sustain economic competitiveness. This year's Distinguished Members include computer engineers and scientists who represent academic and corporate institutions from a broad spectrum of countries and disciplines. Nearly 40 percent of the 2010 honorees are from non-North American countries, including France, Germany, Italy, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Australia, India, and South Africa. The new Distinguished Members are recognized for significant advances in computing technology that have dramatically influenced progress in science, engineering, business, and many other areas of human endeavor.

"This year's Distinguished Members reflect the growing international diversity of ACM's membership and our commitment to recognizing excellence throughout the computing world," said Alain Chesnais, president of ACM. "These prominent men and women have met the stringent criteria for this honor by demonstrating creativity, leadership, and dedication to computing and computer science. Their achievements buttress the innovations that sustain competitiveness in a global economy. We applaud their entrepreneurial and creative spirit and its beneficial impact on society."

The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. ACM's current worldwide membership exceeds 97,000.

Some 60 percent of the 2010 recipients are from leading research and academic institutions around the world. They were recognized for achievements in cybersecurity, software engineering and architecture, data mining and management, Web systems, 3D user interfaces, interactive multimedia, biomedical computing, and programming language implementation.

Among representatives from renowned global businesses and industries, recipients were recognized for achievements in Web performance evaluation, computer architecture virtualization, mobile computing, wireless networking, and Web image and information retrieval.

The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2010 Distinguished Engineers (6):

Mark S. Anderson, Defence Science and

Technology Organisation, Australia

Liana L. Fong, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

Linda M. Northrop, Software Engineering Institute,

Carnegie Mellon University

Carl Waldspuger, VMware, Inc.

Dan Wolfson, IBM Software Group

Andrew Woo, NGRAIN (Canada) Corporation,

Vancouver, BC, Canada

The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2010 Distinguished Scientists (41):

Divyakant Agrawal, University of California, Santa

Barbara

Martin F. Arlitt, Hewlett Packard Laboratories/

University of Calgary

Vasanth Bala, IBM Research

M. Brian Blake, University of Notre Dame

Doug A. Bowman, Virginia Tech

Panos K. Chrysanthis, University of Pittsburgh

Elizabeth Churchill, Yahoo! Research

**Donald D. Cowan**, University of Waterloo

Evelyn Duesterwald, IBM Research

Abdulmotaleb El Saddik, University of Ottawa

Serge Fdida, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris,

France

Wu-chun Feng, Virginia Tech

Juan E. Gilbert, Clemson University

David Grove, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Mary W. Hall, University of Utah

Y. Charlie Hu, Purdue University

Shivkumar Kalyanaraman, IBM Research - India,

Bangalore

Huan Liu, Arizona State University

Wei-Ying Ma, Microsoft Research Asia, Beijing, China

Yoelle Maarek, Yahoo! Research, Haifa, Israel

Paul P. Maglio, IBM Research - Almaden

Dino G. Mandrioli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Tshilidzi Marwala, University of Johannesburg, South

Africa

Gail C. Murphy, University of British Columbia,

Vancouver, Canada

Hwee Tou Ng, National University of Singapore,

Republic of Singapore

Lori Pollock, University of Delaware

Ramachandran Ramjee, Microsoft Research India

Steven K. Reinhardt, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Andrew Sears, UMBC, Baltimore

Joel I. Seiferas, University of Rochester

Shiuhpyng Shieh, National Chiao Tung

University, Taiwan

Anand Sivasubramaniam, Pennsylvania State

University

Kevin Skadron, University of Virginia

Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas at Dallas

Walter F. Tichy, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology,

Germany

Joseph Touch, University of Southern California

Alec Wolman, Microsoft Research

Kesheng Wu, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Jun Xu, Georgia Institute of Technology

Mohammed J. Zaki, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Hai Zhuge, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

For more information about the selection criteria and a complete list of 2010 Distinguished Members, click on <a href="http://distinguished.acm.org">http://distinguished.acm.org</a>.

### About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery <a href="www.acm.org">www.acm.org</a>, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

### About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and endusers of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

# # #