

NEWS RELEASE

Contact: Jim Ormond

212-626-0505

ormond@hq.acm.org

2018 ACM DISTINGUISHED MEMBERS RECOGNIZED FOR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS THAT HAVE REVOLUTIONIZED HOW WE LIVE, WORK AND PLAY

Major Achievements in Computer Engineering, Education and Science Have Contributed to Some of Today's Most Exciting Technologies

New York, NY, November 7, 2018 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 49 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. <u>The 2018 Distinguished Members</u> are exemplars for their peers, and represent ACM's worldwide geographic reach, as well as the exciting range of subdisciplines that constitute today's technology landscape.

"By honoring these individuals, we highlight the professional achievements behind the technologies that have transformed both our daily lives and society in general," explains ACM President Cherri M. Pancake. "Each Distinguished Member has also demonstrated a commitment to being part of the professional community through his or her longstanding membership in ACM. These computing leaders really epitomize ACM's mission of 'advancing computing as a science and a profession.'"

The 2018 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world. They represent countries including Australia, Canada, Chile, China, France, Germany, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Sweden, the United States and the United Kingdom. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including algorithms, artificial intelligence, computer architecture, computer science education, cybersecurity, graphics, human-computer interaction, and networking.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.

2018 ACM DISTINGUISHED MEMBERS

For Outstanding Contributions to Computing:

Eytan Adar Niklas Elmqvist

University of Michigan University of Maryland, College Park

For Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing:

Christine Alvarado Tim Bell

University of California, San Diego University of Canterbury

Andrew McGettrick Lynn Andrea Stein

University of Strathclyde Olin College of Engineering

Chris Stephenson

Google

For Outstanding Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Kazuaki Ishizaki Rajkumar Kettimuthu

IBM Research Argonne National Laboratory and University of

Chicago

Stefan Saroiu Jingdong Wang

Microsoft Research, Beijing

For Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing:

Sven Apel Brian P. Bailey

University of Passau University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Rajesh Krishna Balan Suman Banerjee

Singapore Management University University of Wisconsin-Madison

Emery Berger Yi Chang

University of Massachusetts, Amherst Jilin University

Marsha Chechik Lei Chen

University of Toronto Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Yiran Chen Tanzeem Choudhury

Duke University Cornell University and HealthRhythms Inc.

Mats Daniels

Uppsala University

Falko Dressler

Paderborn University

Yun Fu

Northeastern University

Jennifer Golbeck

University of Maryland

Vasant Gajanan Honavar

Pennsylvania State University

Judy Kay

The University of Sydney

Cliff Lampe

University of Michigan

Chen Li

University of California, Irvine

Gonzalo Navarro

University of Chile

Dimitrios S. Nikolopoulos

Queen's University Belfast

Xipeng Shen

North Carolina State University

Karthikeyan Sundaresan

NEC Laboratories America

Renata Teixeira

Inria

Danfeng (Daphne) Yao

Virginia Tech

Xin Luna Dong

Amazon

Natalie Enright Jerger

University of Toronto

Deepak Ganesan

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Indranil Gupta

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Xiaohua Jia

City University of Hong Kong

David Kotz

Dartmouth College

Kevin Leyton-Brown

University of British Columbia

Feifei Li

University of Utah

Srihari Nelakuditi

University of South Carolina

Tetsuya Sakai

Waseda University

Ram Duvvuru Sriram

US National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jaime Teevan

Microsoft

Merrill Warkentin

Mississippi State University

Yizhou Yu

The University of Hong Kong

About ACM

<u>ACM</u>, the <u>Association for Computing Machinery</u>, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership,

promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

###