2022 ACM General Election Slate

In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM's officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, two Members at Large will be elected to ACM Council. In addition to considering previous leadership roles both within and outside ACM, the Committee made an effort to ensure that a diversity of perspectives will be represented.

The names of the candidates for each office are presented in alphabetical order below:

President (1 July 2022 — 30 June 2024):

  • Yannis Ioannidis, “Athena” Research Center and University of Athens
  • Joseph Konstan, University of Minnesota

Vice President (1 July 2022 — 30 June 2024):

  • Elisa Bertino, Purdue University
  • Chris Stephenson, Google

Secretary/Treasurer (1 July 2022 — 30 June 2024):

  • Theo Schlossnagle, Circonus
  • John West, Texas Advanced Computing Center

Members at Large (1 July 2024 — 30 June 2026):

  • Juan Gilbert, University of Florida
  • Antonio Vallecillo, University of Málaga
  • Michelle Zhou, Juji
  • Candidate to be named at a later date

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of 1 November 2021 are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member signatures required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and Members at Large, is 745.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before 31 January 2022. Original petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan, COO, ACM Headquarters, 1601 Broadway, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10019, USA, by 31 January 2022. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2022 issue of Communications of the ACM.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

Cherri M. Pancake, Chair
Jennifer Chayes
Enrico Nardelli
Charles Isbell
Thomas Zimmermann