2018 ACM General Election Slate

In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM's officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, two Members at Large will be elected.

The names of the candidates for each office are presented in random order below:

President (1 July 2018 — 30 June 2020):

  • Jack Davidson, University of Virginia
  • Cherri Pancake, Oregon State University

Vice President (1 July 2018 — 30 June 2020):

  • Moshe Y. Vardi, Rice University
  • Elizabeth Churchill, Google

Secretary/Treasurer (1 July 2018 — 30 June 2020):

  • Yannis Ioannidis, "Athena" Research Center and University of Athens
  • Mehran Sahami, Stanford University

Members at Large (1 July 2018 — 30 June 2022):

  • Claudia Bauzer Medeiros, University of Campinas, Brazil
  • Nenad Medvidović, University of Southern California
  • P J Narayanan, IIIT Hyderabad
  • Theo Schlossnagle, Circonus

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of 1 November 2017 are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member signatures required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and Members at Large, is 653.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before 31 January 2018. Original petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan, COO, ACM Headquarters, 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, New York, NY 10121, USA, by 31 January 2018. Duplicate copies of the petitions should also be sent to the Chair of the Elections Committee, Gerry Segal, c/o ACM Headquarters. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2018 issue of CACM.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

Alexander L. Wolf, Chair
Karin Breitman
Judith Gal-Ezer
Satoshi Matsuoka
Rashmi Mohan

A Message on Diversity and ACM's 2018 General Election

As the ACM election process begins its biannual schedule, I want to draw attention to the importance of thinking about diversity in our elected bodies. This consideration should be a matter of interest, not only to the nominations committee, but to the electorate as well.

In the past several years, ACM has invested time and effort to become more geographically inclusive through the creation of the ACM-Europe, ACM-China, and ACM-India Councils. We have more work to do along those lines in other regions of geographic importance. Equally important are other axes of diversity including gender and ethnicity. We want our elected officials to reflect the diversity of the computing industry and, frankly, we want to help increase the diversity in this sector. The statistics of involvement in computing are notably out of balance with too few women and too little representation among ethnic groups. The computing community will be well served to increase the participation of diverse constituents and that is equally true of ACM’s elected and appointed positions. I hope you will take these points into account as you consider recommendations for nominees for our elected posts, our awards, and member advancement opportunities. Similarly, as voting begins, please keep in mind the value of diversity on our boards and councils.

Vinton G. Cerf,
Past President