ACM Fellows

ACM's most prestigious member grade recognizes the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. Candidates for Fellow must have 5 years of continuous Professional Membership. ACM formally recognizes each new Fellows class at its annual awards banquet.

A listing of ACM Fellows

ACM’s Fellow program was established in June 1993 to recognize outstanding ACM members for technical, professional and leadership contributions that:

  • Advance the arts, sciences and practices of information processing
  • Promote the free interchange of ideas and information in the field
  • Develop and maintain the integrity and competence of individuals in the field
  • Advance the objectives of ACM

Each candidate is evaluated as a whole individual and is expected to bring honor to ACM. A candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. In general, two categories of accomplishments are considered: achievements related to information technology and outstanding service to ACM or the larger computing community. A person selected as an ACM Fellow should be a role model and an inspiration to other members.

The ACM Fellows Committee is responsible for evaluating each nomination submitted and selecting a limited number of Fellows each year from among the nominees. The Committee strives to apply the selection criteria equally to academic, research, and industrial/commercial candidates and to ensure that contributions from the full range of members are recognized and rewarded, making a conscious effort to overcome any form of discrimination.

ACM guide for Fellow nominations

Nomination Form

Making the Case for an ACM Fellow

For questions on the above please contact