First ACM Computer Science & Law Symposium at New York Law School

The ACM Symposium on Computer Science and Law will be held at the New York Law School in New York City on October 28. This inaugural symposium will include keynote talks by ACM Turing Award co-recipient Shafi Goldwasser and ACM Fellow Ed Felten, as well as panels on research, education, and practice in the interplay of computer science and law. A reception featuring student posters will follow.

Early registration is available through October 6.

HLF 2019 to Feature Turing Award and ACM Prize Recipients

The seventh Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF 2019), September 22-27, will provide an informal venue for 200 selected young researchers to exchange ideas with renowned laureates in mathematics and computer science. The week will see participation by ACM A.M. Turing Award Laureates including 2018 co-recipient Yoshua Bengio, as well as ACM Prize in Computing recipients. Be sure to visit the HLF site to watch live streaming of lectures and more events.

Bengio to Deliver Turing Award Lecture

2018 ACM A.M. Turing Award Laureate Yoshua Bengio will deliver his Turing Lecture at the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF). Bengio’s talk, titled, "Deep Learning for AI," will be presented on Monday, September 23 from 9:00 - 9:45 a.m. Central European Summer Time. The Turing Lecture will be livestreamed on the HLF website. Bengio received the 2018 A.M. Turing Award with Geoffrey Hinton and Yann LeCun for conceptual and engineering breakthroughs that have made deep neural networks a critical component of computing.

Meet Natalie Enright Jerger

Natalie Enright Jerger is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto. She is an ACM Distinguished Member and Vice Chair of two ACM Special Interest Groups on computer architecture, SIGMICRO and SIGARCH. She was recently appointed Co-chair of ACM’s newly-formed Diversity and Inclusion Council. “The piece I’ve been most interested in lately is inclusion—what happens to people once we get them in the door.”

Image of Natalie Enright Jerger

GHC 2019, October 1 to 4, Orlando, Florida

The Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing is the world's largest gathering of women technologists. Sessions will address security and privacy; Internet of Things; inclusion and cultural awareness; architecture and design of large-scale software; and more. Scheduled keynote speakers are Aicha Evans (CEO, Zoox), Ana Roca Castro (CEO, Genius Plaza), Nonny de la Peña (CEO and founder, Emblematic Group), and Vivienne Ming (co-founder, Socos Labs).

Meet Robert Sedgewick

Robert Sedgewick is a Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University, where he was the department’s founding Chair. He is best known for his series of Algorithms textbooks, and is the recipient of the 2018 ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award, among other honors. “Web content and other modern artifacts are important, but I believe a textbook written by an expert who is trying to lay out what a student can reasonably learn about a subject in a semester is still a critical component.”

Image of Robert Sedgewick

Computational Sustainability

These are exciting times for computational sciences with the digital revolution permeating a variety of areas and radically transforming business, science, and our daily lives. The Internet and the World Wide Web, GPS, satellite communications, remote sensing, and smartphones are dramatically accelerating the pace of discovery, engendering globally connected networks of people and devices. Unfortunately, humanity is also facing tremendous challenges. Nearly a billion people still live below the international poverty line and human activities and climate change are threatening our planet and the livelihood of current and future generations. In this video, Carla Gomes discusses "Computational Sustainability," a Contributed Article in the September 2019 issue of Communications of the ACM.

The DevOps Phenomenon

ACM Queue’s “Research for Practice” consistently serves up expert-curated guides to the best of computing research, and relates these breakthroughs to the challenges that software engineers face every day. This installment of RfP is by Anna Wiedemann, Nicole Forsgren, Manuel Wiesche, Heiko Gewald, and Helmut Krcmar. Titled “The DevOps Phenomenon,” this RfP gives an overview of stories from across the industry about software organizations overcoming the early hurdles of adopting DevOps practices, and coming out on the other side with tighter integration between their software and operations teams, faster delivery times for new software features, and achieving a higher level of stability.

DAML: The Contract Language of Distributed Ledgers

Shaul Kfir cofounded Digital Asset in 2014 looking to prove something to the financial services industry, which he felt  was in danger of missing out on the potential of blockchain technology. In this ACM Queue Case Study, Kfir has a conversation with Camille Fournier, the head of platform development for a leading New York City hedge fund, in which the two financial service technology experts discuss how DAML (Digital Asset Modeling Language) puts blockchain technology to work, and what the future has in store for the blockchain and the challenge of distributed ledgers.

Become an Ambassador for ACM

Encourage your colleagues to join ACM, share the benefits of ACM and receive free gifts for participating. Your support of ACM is critical to our continuing efforts to advance computing as a science and a profession. 

Ambassador for ACM Program

Bringing You the World’s Computing Literature

The most comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering computing and information technology includes the complete collection of ACM's publications. 

ACM Digital Library

Lifelong Learning

ACM offers lifelong learning resources including online books from Safari, online courses from Skillsoft, TechTalks on the hottest topics in computing and IT, and more.


ACM Updates Code of Ethics

ACM recently updated its Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. The revised Code of Ethics addresses the significant advances in computing technology since the 1992 version, as well as the growing pervasiveness of computing in all aspects of society. To promote the Code throughout the computing community, ACM created a booklet, which includes the Code, case studies that illustrate how the Code can be applied to situations that arise in everyday practice and suggestions on how the Code can be used in educational settings and in companies and organizations. 

Download a PDF of the ACM Code booklet.