Personal tools
You are here: Home Computing News Featured items at expired-09 Barbara Liskov Named Recipient of 2008 ACM A.M. Turing Award
Document Actions

Barbara Liskov Named Recipient of 2008 ACM A.M. Turing Award

Highest Honor in Computing Awarded for Groundbreaking Research in Programming

ACM has named Barbara Liskov the recipient of the 2008 ACM A.M. Turing Award for her contributions to practical and theoretical foundations of programming language and system design, especially related to data abstraction, fault tolerance, and distributed computing. 

Liskov revolutionized the programming field with groundbreaking research that underpins virtually every modern computer application for both consumers and businesses. Her achievements in programming language design have made software more reliable and easier to maintain. They are now the basis of every important programming language since 1975, including Ada, C++, Java, and C#.   

Liskov heads the Programming Methodology Group in the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory at MIT, where she has conducted research and has been a professor since 1972.  

The ACM A.M. Turing Award is ACM's most prestigious technical award. It recognizes contributions of lasting and major technical importance, and honors individuals whose work has advanced the field of computing. First presented in 1966, and named for British mathematician Alan M. Turing, the Turing Award is widely considered to be the "Nobel Prize in Computing." It carries a $250,000 prize, with financial support provided by Intel Corporation and Google Inc.

Learn more

ACM Press Release

ACM A.M. Turing Award site