Laureates of Computer Science and Mathematics Meet the Next Generation

For one week each September, the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF) brings together promising young researchers with recipients of the most prestigious awards in computing and mathematics. Modeled after the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, recipients of the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the ACM Prize in Computing, the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal, and the Nevanlinna Prize engage in a cross-generational scientific dialogue with up to 200 young researchers in Heidelberg, Germany.

The seventh HLF will take place September 22 to 27, 2019. This high-profile event combines scientific, social and outreach activities in an informal atmosphere, and is fueled by comprehensive exchange and scientific inspiration.

ACM HLF Selection Committee

ACM gratefully acknowledges members of the ACM Selection Committee for their work reviewing the applications of young computer scientists who applied for one of the coveted spots to participate in the 2019 HLF.

Committee Co-Chairs

  • Jennifer Chayes, Microsoft Research
  • Matthias Kaiserswerth, Hasler Foundation

Committee Members

  • Gul Agha, University of Illinois at Ubana-Champaign
  • Srinivas Aluru, Georgia Tech
  • N Asokan, Aalto University
  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates, NTENT
  • Tony Baylis, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Sonia Bergamaschi, Unimore - Universita Degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emelia
  • Lars Birkedal, Aarhus University
  • Wenguang Chen, Tsinghua University
  • Jane Cleland-Huang, University of Notre Dame
  • Edith Cohen, Google Research / Tel Aviv University
  • Haixin Duan, Tsinghua University
  • Ahmed Elmagarmid, Qatar Computing Research Institute
  • Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria
  • Juan Gilbert, University of Florida
  • Martin Grohe, RWTH Aachen University
  • Jim Hendler, Rensselaer Polytechnic Insitute
  • Aaron Hertzmann, Adobe Research
  • Jessica Hodgins, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Mark Hoemmen, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Xia (Ben) Hu, Texas A&M University
  • John Hughes, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Robert Jacob, Tufts University
  • Jeff Johnson, University of San Francisco
  • Adam Kalai, Microsoft Research
  • Karrie Karahalios, University of Illinois
  • Martin Kersten, University of Amsterdam/CWI
  • Clayton Lewis, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Jessie Li, Penn State University
  • John Lui, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Bryan Lyles, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Yoelle Maarek, Amazon Haifa
  • Bruce Maggs, Duke University
  • Dinesh Manocha, University of Maryland
  • Jacquelyn Martino, IBM Research
  • Vishal Misra, Columbia Univeristy
  • Mukesh Mohania, IBM Research Australia
  • Andreas Moshovos, University of Toronto
  • Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Institute
  • Hwee Tou Ng, National University of Singapore
  • Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Northeastern University
  • Judith Olson, UC Irvine
  • Venkat Padmanabhan, Microsoft Research India
  • David Peleg, Weizmann Insititute of Science
  • Ron Perrott, Oxford e-Research Centre
  • Marian Petre, The Open University
  • Amanda Randles, Duke University
  • John Richards, IBM Research USA
  • Matthew Roughan, University of Adelaide
  • Holly Rushmeier, Yale University
  • Andrew Sears, Penn State University
  • Sudipta Sengupta, Microsoft Research
  • David A. Shamma, FX Palo Alto Laboratory
  • Clarisse Sieckenius de Souza, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro 
  • Renata Cruz Teixeira, INRIA
  • Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Carlo Tomasi, Duke University
  • Willem Visser, Stellenbosch University
  • Ellen Voorhees, NIST
  • Alec Wolman, Microsoft Research
  • Dongrui Wu, Data Nova
  • Xiang-Yang Li, University of Science and Technology of China
  • Shuicheng Yan, National University of Singapore
  • Yanfang (Fanny) Ye, West Virginia University
  • Wlodek Zadrozny, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • Qian Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Yu Zheng, Microsoft Research
  • Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University 

For more information about the Heidelberg Laureate Forum, visit the HLF website at

HLF Laureate Portraits

The HLF Laureate Portraits is a series of video interviews with the recipients of the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the ACM Prize in Computing, The Abel Prize, the Fields Medal, and the Nevanlinna Prize who have participated in the Heidelberg Laureate Forum. 

ACM Turing and ACM Prize Laureates at 6th Heidelberg Laureate Forum

Each year, ACM is proud to bring recipients of the ACM A.M. Turing Award and recipients of the ACM Prize in Computing to the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF), the premier networking event for mathematicians and computer science from all over the world. The HLF provides an opportunity for the scientific heroes of previous generations to inspire the next generation of scientists.