ACM Honors International Leaders Who Helped Advance Computer Science in the Digital Age

April 23, 2014

ACM has honored the achievements of leaders from international academic and community organizations who helped build the infrastructure of computer science as a critical discipline in the digital era. As innovators, overseers and educators in their respective positions and institutions, they made possible the dramatic progress that has enabled computer science to contribute to science and society and change the course of history.

The ACM Distinguished Service Award to Gerhard Goos of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Juris Hartmanis of Cornell University, and Jan van Leeuwen of Utrecht University for their definitive role in establishing computer science as a vibrant subject. Their stewardship as series editors of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), published since 1973, launched this series into a highly visible platform for disseminating research results from all areas of the nascent computing field.

The Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award to Donna Cappo, ACM Director of Special Interest Group Services, for her leadership in guiding ACM's Special Interest Groups, their activities, and volunteers; and Russell Harris, ACM Director of Financial Operations and Budgeting, for his long tenure as ACM's financial leading light.

The ACM Presidential Award to Mehran Sahami of Stanford University, for leading the revision of an innovative computer science curriculum that reflects the application of computing tools in a wide variety of disciplines.

The honorees will be recognized with ACM Awards for leadership and service, to be presented at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 21 in San Francisco.

Read the ACM news release.