People of ACM - Watch Videos Highlighting ACM's Awards Recipients

July 17, 2014

Meet the computing luminaries and leaders honored at ACM's awards gala in June 2014. ACM celebrates their technological contributions and their service to the computing community. Watch these short videos, produced for the awards gala, which highlight the accomplishments of these computing innovators.

2013 ACM A.M. Turing Award

Leslie Lamport

For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of distributed and concurrent systems, notably the invention

of concepts such as causality and logical clocks, safety and liveness, replicated state machines, and sequential consistency.

2013 ACM-Infosys Foundation Award

David Blei

For pioneering the area of topic modeling, which has had profound influence on machine learning foundations as well as industrial practice.

2013 ACM Distinguished Service Award

Gerhard Goos, Juris Hartmanis and Jan van Leeuwen

For their long-standing work as series editors of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) -- under their stewardship a most important venue for disseminating innovative research in the initial decades of the field of computer science.

2013 Grace Murray Hopper Award

Pedro Felipe Felzenszwalb

For technical contributions to the problem of object detection in images which have had very high impact in the

fields of computer vision and machine learning.

2013 Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award

Robert D. Blumofe and Charles E. Leiserson

For contributions to efficient and robust parallel computation through both provably efficient randomized scheduling protocols and a set of parallel-language primitives constituting the Cilk framework. Implementations of these protocols and conceptual framework have been deployed on scores of millions of machines and therefore enjoy daily impact.

2013 Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award

Susan H. Rodger

For her outstanding contributions to the teaching of computer science theory, to the development of computer science education in primary and secondary schools, and to service on behalf of the computer science education community.

2013 Outstanding Contribution to ACM 

Donna Cappo

For her incomparable leadership in guiding ACMs Special Interest Groups, related conferences, events, and the countless volunteers who organize and run them.

Russell Harris

ACM's financial leading light for over four decades, whose keen business acumen is responsible for many of the accounting practices that continue to strengthen ACM's fiscal structure.

2013 ACM Presidential Award 

Mehran Sahami

For outstanding leadership of, and commitment to, the three-year ACM/IEEE-CS effort to produce CS2013—a comprehensive revision of the curricular guidelines for undergraduate programs in computer science.

2013 ACM Software System Award

To the primary members of the Coq Development Team: Thierry Coquand, Gérard Huet, Christine Paulin-Mohring,

Bruno Barras, Jean-Christophe Filliâtre, Hugo Herbelin, Chet Murthy, Yves Bertot, and Pierre Castéran

For the Coq Proof Assistant System that provides interactive software for the development of formal proofs, using a powerful logic known as the Calculus of Inductive Constructions. 

2014-2015 ACM Athena Award 

Susan T. Dumais

For introducing novel algorithms and interfaces for interactive retrieval that have made it easier to find, use and make sense of information.