ACM and CSTA Announce First-Ever Cutler-Bell Prize Student Winners

March 22, 2016

The first-ever winners of the ACM/CSTA Cutler-Bell Prize in High School Computing were announced on Saturday, March 19, at the Living Computer Museum. The prize, bestowed by ACM and the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA), recognizes computer science talent in high school students. Each winner was awarded a $10,000 prize and presented his or her project at the museum.

The winners are (in photo from left to right): Karthik Rao, Briarcliff High School (New York); Matthew Edwards, Blacksburg High School (Virginia); Cherry Zou, Poolesville High School (Maryland); and Valerie Chen, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (Virginia). Their submissions ranged from naval and airline applications to online voting and identifying cyberbullies.

The Cutler-Bell Prize seeks to promote the field of computer science and encourage its study, as well as to empower young and aspiring learners to pursue computing challenges outside of the traditional classroom environment. The award was established by David Cutler (a software engineer, designer and developer of several operating systems) and Gordon Bell (an electrical engineer and researcher).