ACM Recognizes Visionaries Who Changed the World through Technology

May 10, 2017

ACM has recognized the dedication, talent and achievements of four luminaries of the international computing community. The 2016 ACM award recipients made contributions in areas including computer science education, technology in the developing world, preserving and sharing computing history, and supporting women in the computing field. They will be formally honored at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 24 in San Francisco.

(Clockwise from top left:)

Leonard Jay Shustek is the recipient of the ACM Distinguished Service Award for the establishment and success of the Computer History Museum, the world’s leading institution in exploring the history of computing and its impact on society.

Owen Astrachan is the recipient of the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for three decades of innovative computer science pedagogy and inspirational community leadership in broadening the appeal of high school and college introductory computer science courses.

Valerie Barr is the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for reinventing ACM-W, increasing its effectiveness in supporting women in computing worldwide and encouraging participation in ACM.

Ken Banks is the recipient of the Eugene L. Lawler Award for developing FrontlineSMS, using mobile technology and text messaging to empower people to share information, organize aid, and reconnect communities during crises.

Read more.