Gotterbarn, McGettrick and Gagliardi Recognized with 2018 ACM Presidential Award

May 23, 2018

ACM President Vicki L. Hanson has recognized three individuals for their time and talents in service to ACM with the 2018 ACM Presidential Award:

  • Donald Gotterbarn, for 25 years of outstanding service as chief architect of ACM’s Code of Professional Ethics, a living document adopted by the computing community worldwide as the blueprint for professional conduct in the field.
  • Andrew McGettrick, for his unwavering commitment to computer science education—particularly in terms of its quality, breadth, and access—for generations of students.
  • Fabrizio Gagliardi, for his selfless dedication to ACM, ensuring the organization’s activities, services, and influence extend throughout the European continent.

“We are very proud of the work the Association for Computing Machinery does in so many areas,” said Hanson. “The ACM Presidential Award is a way to honor those who have gone above and beyond to create a dynamic professional environment in which we all have been able to grow in our careers. This year’s Presidential Award recipients have served ACM for decades and their contributions have been highly consequential.”

The recipients will be formally honored at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 23, 2018 in San Francisco.

The ACM Presidential Award is given to a leader whose actions and achievements serve as paragons for our field. Recipients have demonstrated their exceptional abilities to advance computing and enhance its impact for the benefit of society through generosity, creativity, and dedication to their respective missions.

Read the ACM news release.