ACM Honors Innovators Who Have Shaped the Digital Revolution

May 2, 2018

ACM has announced the recipients of four prestigious technical awards. These leaders were selected by their peers for making significant contributions that have had far-reaching impact on the ascendance of computing as an integral part of how we live and work today, opening promising new avenues for research exploration and commercial application in the coming years. The 2017 recipients will be formally honored at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 23, 2018 in San Francisco.

Members of the Project Jupyter Steering Council are recipients of the ACM Software System Award, for Project Jupyter, a broad collaboration that develops open source tools for interactive computing, with a language-agnostic design. These tools, which include IPython, the Jupyter Notebook and JupyterHub, have become a de facto standard for data analysis in research, education, journalism and industry. The original Steering Council, led by Fernando Pérez and Brian E. Granger, included Min Ragan-Kelley, Paul Ivanov, Thomas Kluyver, Jason Grout, Matthias Bussonnier, Damián Avila, Steven Silvester, Jonathan Frederic, Kyle Kelley, Jessica Hamrick, Carol Willing, Sylvain Corlay and Peter Parente.

Amanda Randles is the recipient of the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for developing HARVEY, a massively parallel fluid dynamics simulation capable of modeling the full human arterial system at subcellular resolution and fostering discoveries that will serve as a basis for improving the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of human diseases.

Scott Shenker is the recipient of the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for pioneering contributions to fair queueing in packet-switching networks, which had a major impact on modern practice in computer communication.

Margaret A. Boden is the recipient of the ACM - AAAI Allen Newell Award for contributions to the philosophy and historiography of cognitive science and artificial intelligence, particularly in the study of human creativity.

Read more.