Geoffrey C. Fox Named 2019 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award Recipient

October 22, 2019

ACM and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) have named Geoffrey C. Fox of Indiana University Bloomington as the recipient of the 2019 ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. Fox was cited for foundational contributions to parallel computing methodology, algorithms and software, and data analysis, and their interfaces with broad classes of applications. The award will be presented at SC19: The International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis, November 17-22, in Denver, Colorado.

Fox has made several important technical contributions to high performance computing. He identified the principles behind the use of decomposition and efficient message passing in early multiple instruction, multiple data (MIMD) hypercubes, which pioneered application development on parallel machines. In several well-received papers, Fox demonstrated the synergies between message passing interface (MPI) and MapReduce.

Fox’s service to the community includes involvement with several organizations, including the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education, to identify research opportunities in computing for the students and staff of minority serving institutions (MSIs). He has also taught Java and parallel computing online courses to historically black colleges and universities and MSIs. Fox has also taken on many volunteer roles, including General Chair, of several conferences and workshops.

Fox is Director of the Digital Science Center and a distinguished professor at Indiana University’s Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering.

ACM and the IEEE Computer Society co-sponsor the Kennedy Award, which was established in 2009 to recognize substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and significant community service or mentoring contributions. It was named for the late Ken Kennedy, founder of Rice University’s computer science program and a world expert on high performance computing. The Kennedy Award carries a $5,000 honorarium endowed by the SC Conference Steering Committee.

Read the ACM news release.