ACM Elects Gabriele Kotsis as President

May 27, 2020

ACM has elected Gabriele Kotsis as President for a two-year term beginning July 1. Kotsis is a Computer Science professor at Johannes Kepler University and an ACM Distinguished Member. She has organized ACM conferences and workshops, and in 2016 received an award in appreciation of her accomplishments regarding the ACM womENcourage conference series. Kotsis is a founding member of the ACM Europe Council, serving from 2008 to 2016. In 2014, she became an ACM Distinguished Member for her contributions to workload characterization for parallel and distributed systems, and for founding ACM Europe. Since 2016, she has been an elected Member-at-Large of the ACM Council.

Also elected to two-year terms were Vice President Joan Feigenbaum, Grace Murray Hopper Professor of Computer Science at Yale University and an Amazon Scholar; and Secretary/Treasurer Elisa Bertino, Samuel Conte Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University and 2019-2020 ACM Athena Lecturer.

President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer serve two-year terms from July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022.

In addition, Members-at-Large elected to four-year terms are Nancy M. Amato, Abel Bliss Professor and Department Head of Computer Science at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Tom Crick, Professor of Digital Education and Policy at Swansea University; Susan Dumais, Technical Fellow and Director, Microsoft Research Labs; Mehran Sahami, Professor (Teaching) and Associate Chair for Education, Stanford University; and Alejandro Saucedo, Engineering Director (Machine Learning), Seldon Technologies and Chief Scientist, Institute for Ethical AI and Machine Learning. They will serve four-year terms from July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2024.