ACM Recognizes Outstanding Service to the Field of Computing

June 9, 2021

ACM has recognized five individuals with awards for their exemplary service to the computing field. Working in diverse areas, the 2020 award recipients were selected by their peers for longstanding efforts that have strengthened the community. This year’s ACM award recipients made important contributions in areas including computing curriculum; increasing the participation of women in computing; strengthening ACM’s presence in Europe; bridging the fields of computer science, education, and global health; and leading technology policy efforts.

Andrew McGettrick is the recipient of the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for his scholarship and tireless volunteer work and contributions, which have fundamentally improved rigorous computer science as a field of professional practice and as an academic pursuit.

Jennifer Tour Chayes is the recipient of the ACM Distinguished Service Award for her effective leadership, mentorship, and dedication to diversity during her distinguished career of computer science research, teaching, and institution building.

Chris Hankin is the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for fundamental contributions to ACM Europe and for bringing a European perspective to critically important ACM committees and activities.

Richard Anderson is the recipient of the ACM Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics for contributions bridging the fields of computer science, education, and global health.

Marc Rotenberg is the recipient of the ACM Policy Award for long-standing, high-impact leadership on privacy and technology policy.

Read more.