Celebrating ACM's 2019 & 2020 Award Recipients: ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award

October 21, 2021

The surge of the COVID-19 delta variant, international travel restrictions and restrictions on indoor gatherings forced ACM to cancel its Awards Banquet planned for October 23, 2021.

We continue our series of emails containing videos highlighting the achievements of the 2019 and 2020 Award recipients that were prepared for the Banquet.

Click on the image below to view a short video about the 2020 recipient of the ACM Kanellakis Award.

click to view video

The Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award honors specific theoretical accomplishments that have had a significant and demonstrable effect on the practice of computing. This award is accompanied by a prize of $10,000 and is endowed by contributions from the Kanellakis family, and financial support by ACM’s SIGACT, SIGDA, SIGMOD, SIGPLAN, the ACM SIG Project Fund, and individual contributions.

2019 Paris Kanellakis Award

The 2019 Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award is presented to Noga Alon, Phillip Gibbons, Yossi Matias, and Mario Szegedy for foundational work on streaming algorithms and their application to large-scale data analytics.

2020 Paris Kanellakis Award

The 2020 Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award is presented to Yossi Azar, Andrei Broder, Anna Karlin, Michael Mitzenmacher and Eli Upfal for the discovery and analysis of balanced allocations, known as the power of two choices, and their extensive applications to practice.

ACM welcomes nominations for candidates whose work exemplifies the best and most influential contributions to our community, and society at large. More information on nominating candidates for future awards is available on the ACM Awards website here.