ACM Elects Yannis Ioannidis as President

May 27, 2022

ACM has elected Yannis Ioannidis as President for a two-year term beginning July 1. Ioannidis is a Professor of Informatics & Telecom at the University of Athens, Greece and a Fellow of ACM and IEEE. An ACM member since 1983, he has served as ACM Secretary/Treasurer (2018–2020), SIGMOD Chair (2009–2013) and Vice-Chair (2005–2009), and as a member of the ACM Europe Council, the SIG Governing Board Executive Committee, and the ACM Publications Board. Currently he serves on the ACM Digital Library Board, is a CACM associate editor, the faculty advisor of the ACM Student Chapter of his university, and will chair the ACM Europe Council Working Group on summer schools, having organized the Council’s first three summer schools on the topic of Data Science. In 2017 he received the ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award.

Also elected to two-year terms were Vice President Elisa Bertino, Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University, ACM Fellow, former Secretary/Treasurer, and 2019–2020 ACM Athena Lecturer; and Secretary/Treasurer John West, Director of Strategic Initiatives at the Texas Advanced Computing Center and a founding officer and current Chair of SIGHPC.

President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer serve two-year terms from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2024.

In addition, Members-at-Large elected to four-year terms are Rashmi Mohan, Senior Engineering Manager at Splunk Inc., and Michelle Zhou, co-founder and CEO of Juji, Inc. They will serve four-year terms from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2026.