World’s Largest Computing Society Cites Individuals Who Made Contributions to Secure Systems, Software, Privacy, and AI

May 11, 2022

ACM today announced the recipients of four prestigious technical awards. These leaders were selected by their peers for making contributions to groundbreaking research and practical applications that impact people using technology every day.

Raluca Ada Popa is the recipient of the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for the design of secure distributed systems. The systems protect confidentiality against attackers with full access to servers while maintaining full functionality.

Xavier Leroy, Sandrine Blazy, Zaynah Dargaye, Jacques-Henri Jourdan, Michael Schmidt, Bernhard Schommer, and Jean-Baptiste Tristan are the recipients of the ACM Software System Award for the development of CompCert, the first practically useful optimizing compiler targeting multiple commercial architectures that has a complete, mechanically checked proof of its correctness.

Avrim Blum, Irit Dinur, Cynthia Dwork, Frank McSherry, Kobbi Nissim, and Adam Davison Smith are the recipients of the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for their fundamental contributions to the development of differential privacy.

Carla Gomes is the recipient of the ACM - AAAI Allen Newell Award for establishing and nurturing the field of computational sustainability and for foundational contributions to artificial intelligence.

Read more.