A Message from ACM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council Co-Chairs Lisa Smith and Stephanie Ludi

November 10, 2022

ACM is passionate about fostering diversity, equity, and inclusion and encourages nominators to consider all candidates as they look for bright and talented minds to be recognized. No individual, no matter how worthy, can receive an ACM Award unless someone in the community nominates them. Candidates for these awards do not need to be ACM members.

The ACM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council is providing mentorship for nominators and endorsers through a new Shepherd Program this year in support of these three awards.

The ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award acknowledges, recognizes, and celebrates an outstanding young computer professional of the year, selected on the basis of a single recent major technical or service contribution. The candidate must have been 35 years of age or less at the time the qualifying contribution was made. The recipient will be awarded $35,000 provided by the generous support of Microsoft.

The ACM Athena Lecturer Award looks to honor women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science. Each year ACM honors a preeminent woman computer scientist as the Athena Lecturer. The recipient gives an invited talk at a major ACM conference of her choice. A video of the talk is made available on the ACM website. The recipient will be awarded $25,000 provided by the generous support of Two Sigma.

The ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Award is presented annually to an outstanding educator who is appointed to a recognized educational baccalaureate institution; recognized for advancing new teaching methodologies or effecting new curriculum development or expansion in Computer Science and Engineering; or making a significant contribution to the educational mission of the ACM. The recipient will be awarded $10,000.

Nominators or endorsers interested in receiving support through the DEI Shepherd Program please contact [email protected]. The ACM Awards Committee has created an award guideline which gives insights to best submission practices, do’s and don'ts, etc.

Nominations for the above ACM awards should be submitted using the online nomination form. The award deadline is December 15, 2022. For general questions contact Jade Morris, ACM Awards Program Manager, at [email protected].

As the ACM DEI Council co-chairs, we are focused on enhancing the governance, programs, activities, etc. to drive a more inclusive culture within ACM and the global community we serve.

Thank you,

Lisa Smith & Stephanie Ludi
ACM DEI Co-Chairs