ACM and CSTA Announce 2022-2023 Cutler-Bell Prize Student Recipients

May 10, 2023

ACM and the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) have announced the recipients of the 2022-2023 Cutler-Bell Prize in High School Computing. Four high school students were selected from among a pool of graduating high school seniors throughout the US who applied for the award by submitting a project or artifact that engages modern technology and computer science. A panel of judges selected the recipients based on the ingenuity, complexity, relevancy and originality of their projects.

The Cutler-Bell Prize promotes the field of computer science and empowers students to pursue computing challenges beyond the traditional classroom environment. In 2015, David Cutler and Gordon Bell established the award. Cutler is a software engineer, designer, and developer of several operating systems at Digital Equipment Corporation. Bell, an electrical engineer, is Researcher Emeritus at Microsoft Research.

The recipients are: Okezue Bell, Moravian Academy, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; Nathan Elias, Liberal Arts and Sciences Academy, Austin, Texas; Hannah Guan, BASIS San Antonio Shavano, San Antonio, Texas; and Sirihaasa Nallamothu, University High School, Normal, Illinois. Their projects illustrate the diverse applications being developed by the next generation of computer scientists.

Each Cutler-Bell Prize recipient receives a $10,000 cash prize. This year’s recipients will be formally recognized at the Computer Science Teachers Association’s 2023 Virtual Conference, July 11-13.

Read the news release.