ACM Nominating Committee Report - Nominees for the 2024 General Election

November 29, 2023

In accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the ACM, the Nominating Committee hereby submits the following slate of nominees for ACM's officers. In addition to the officers of the ACM, five Members at Large will be elected to the ACM Council. In addition to considering previous leadership roles both within and outside ACM, the Committee made an effort to ensure that a diversity of perspectives will be represented.

The names of the candidates for each office are presented in alphabetical order below:

President (1 July 2024–30 June 2026):
Yolanda Gil, University of Southern California (USC)
Yannis Ioannidis, University of Athens

Vice President (1 July 2024–30 June 2026):
Elisa Bertino, Purdue University
John West, Texas Advanced Computing Center, The University of Texas at Austin

Secretary/Treasurer (1 July 2024–30 June 2026):
Tom Crick, Swansea University
Rashmi Mohan, Splunk

Members at Large (1 July 2024–30 June 2028):
Ben Fried, Rally Ventures
Erol Gelenbe, Institute of Theoretical & Applied Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences
Odest (Chad) Jenkins, University of Michigan
John Kim, KAIST
Tanara Lauschner, Federal University of Amazonas
Alison Derbenwick Miller, Oracle
Alejandro Saucedo, Zalando SE and The Institute for Ethical AI
Heena Timani, iAnanya Datalytix Pvt. Ltd.

The Constitution and Bylaws provide that candidates for elected offices of the ACM may also be nominated by petition of one percent of the Members who as of 1 November 2023 are eligible to vote for the nominee. Such petitions must be accompanied by a written declaration that the nominee is willing to stand for election. The number of Member petitions required for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, and Members at Large, is 635.

The Bylaws provide that such petitions must reach the Elections Committee before 31 January 2024. Petitions for ACM offices are to be submitted to the ACM Elections Committee, c/o Pat Ryan ([email protected]) by 31 January 2024. Statements and biographical sketches of all candidates will appear in the May 2024 issue of Communications of the ACM.

The Nominating Committee would like to thank all those who helped us with their suggestions and advice.

Gabriele Kotsis, Chair
Karin Breitman
George Neville-Neil
Timothy Pinkston
Divesh Srivastava