ACM Re-Elects Yannis Ioannidis as President

May 29, 2024

ACM has re-elected Yannis Ioannidis as President for a two-year term beginning July 1. Ioannidis is a Professor of Informatics & Telecom at the University of Athens, Greece, and a Fellow of ACM and IEEE. An ACM member since 1983, he has served as ACM Secretary/Treasurer (2018–2020), SIGMOD Chair (2009–2013) and Vice-Chair (2005–2009), and as a member of the ACM Europe Council, the SIG Governing Board Executive Committee, and the ACM Publications Board.

Also re-elected to another two-year term was Vice President Elisa Bertino, Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University, ACM Fellow, former ACM Secretary/Treasurer, and 2019–2020 ACM Athena Lecturer. Newly elected to the office of Secretary/Treasurer is Rashmi Mohan, Director of Engineering at Splunk Inc., former ACM India Council Secretary, and founding member and host of the popular ACM ByteCast podcast series.

President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer serve two-year terms from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2026.

In addition, Members-at-Large elected to four-year terms are Odest (Chad) Jenkins (University of Michigan), John Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology), Tanara Lauschner (Federal University of Amazonas), Alison Derbenwick Miller (Independent Consultant), Alejandro Saucedo, (Zalando SE and Institute for Ethical AI & Machine Learning).

They will serve four-year terms from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2028.