ACM Presents Special Awards to 2016 Intel Science Fair Finalists

ACM presented six Special Awards to finalists in the 2016 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF), the world's largest high school science research competition, held May 8-13 in Phoenix, Arizona. More than 1,700 young entrepreneurs, innovators and scientists from more than 75 countries, regions and territories competed to reach the finals. All winners receive complimentary ACM student memberships for the duration of their undergraduate education. Here are ACM's ISEF Special Award winners and their breakthrough research topics:

First Award of $1,000:
"Multi-Goal Motion Planning for Steerable Surgical Needles," David Jonathan Gardner, 17, Eleanor Roosevelt High School, Greenbelt, Maryland

Second Award of $500:
"A Universal Automated Algorithm for the Generation of Potent Antimicrobial Peptides" Gwenda Law, 17, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School, Burnt Hills, New York

Third Award of $300:
"Efficient Blockchain-Driven Multiparty Computation Markets at Scale," Charles Noyes, 17, Villa Park High School, Villa Park, California

Fourth Award of $200:
"A Machine Learning Approach to Identifying Ordered Binding Regions on Order-Disorder Protein Interfaces" Jake Yee Cui, 17, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria, Virginia

"User Authentication Based on Gait Analysis," Chloe Baker, 16, Lake Braddock Secondary School, Burke, Virginia

"Developing Operating System for High-Performance Computing with a Hardware Approach to the Transactional Memory Support," Wojciech Krzysztof Rozowski, 17, Liceum Ogolnoksztalcace im. Tadeusza Kosciuszki w Krzeszowicach, Krzeszowice, Poland

ACM, CSTA Announce First Cutler-Bell Prize Student Winners

The first-ever winners of the ACM/CSTA Cutler-Bell Prize in High School Computing were announced on March 19 at the Living Computer Museum. Bestowed by ACM and the Computer Science Teachers Association, the award recognizes computer science talent in high school students and comes with a $10,000 prize.