2021 ACM SIG Elections

SIGs Extending Terms

In accordance with ACM Bylaw 6, the following SIGs will not hold elections in 2021: SIGAPP, SIGDOC, SIGecom,SIGMETRICS, SIGOPS, SIGWEB

SIG elections are generally scheduled to take place in odd numbered years, with the elected officers holding office for a set number of years as set forth in the SIG's bylaws. There is a provision for the SIG’s Executive Committee to make a one-time request to extend its term of office. This provision was introduced so that SIGs did not have to hold an expensive election when officers would be rerunning for office, since incumbents were usually reelected.

In accordance with ACM's Constitution and Bylaws, the following SIGs have requested, and the SIG Governing Board has granted, an extension of terms:

  • SIGAPP – Special Interest Group on Applied Computing 
  • SIGDOC – Special Interest Group on Design of Communication
  • SIGecom– Special Interest Group on Economics and Computation
  • SIGMETRICS– Special Interest Group on Measurement and Evaluation
  • SIGOPS – Special Interest Group on Operating Systems
  • SIGWEB – Special Interest Group on Hypertext, Hypermedia and Web


As a voting member, you may petition the ACM to request an election. A petition with the names/signatures of at least 1% of the SIG's members must be submitted to ACM HQs by 29 October 2020. To initiate the petition process, please contact Pat Ryan, ACM’s Chief Operating Officer (ryan_p@acm.org). If the petition is successful, the SIG will be asked to form a nominating committee and begin the electoral process.