ACM Names 37 Distinguished Members for Advances in Computing Technology

ACM Names 37 Distinguished Members for Advances in Computing Technology

Recipients’ Contributions Drove Innovations in Science, Engineering, Business

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold
[email protected]

pdf format

New York, NY, February 5, 2009 -- ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) has named 37 of its members as Distinguished Members in recognition of their individual contributions to both the practical and theoretical aspects of computing and information technology.  The new ACM Distinguished Members include computer scientists and engineers from some of the world’s leading corporations, research labs, and universities.  They are being honored for significant advances in computing technology that have dramatically influenced progress in science, engineering, business, and many other areas of human endeavor.

            “These prominent men and women originate from many parts of the computing field, but they have in common a commitment to technology and a passion for progress,” said Dame Wendy Hall, president of ACM.  “Their respective contributions to computing drive innovations that determine the economic and social developments that, in turn, sustain competitiveness in the global arena.  Their achievements touch virtually every industry in the world, and we celebrate their entrepreneurial and creative spirit for the way it has changed our lives.”

Nineteen of the 2008 recipients represent renowned corporations in the high technology sector.  Their multi-faceted achievements have resulted in a variety of innovations, including data mining, requirements analysis in systems engineering, memory and storage systems and processor designs, artificial intelligence, mobile services platforms, electronic commerce, usability research, process management technology, Web searching, and optical networking protocols.

Within the academic universe, 18 recipients from prominent universities were recognized for achievements in a wide range of areas including optimization techniques, programming languages, software engineering, artificial intelligence, information retrieval modeling, computational complexity theory, design automation, behavioral authentication data, neural network techniques, natural language programming, grid computing, fault tolerance, and computational electromagnetics.


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2008 ACM Distinguished Engineers (10):


David G. Belanger, AT&T Tim Duval, Health Net, Inc.
Brian A. Berenbach, Siemens Corporate Research  Jerrold M. Grochow, MIT
Krishnendu Chakrabarty, Duke University Mike A. Marin, IBM, Costa Mesa, CA
Jen-Yao Chung, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center Dejan S. Milojicic, Hewlett Packard Laboratories
Susan M. Dray, Dray & Associates, Inc. Daniel S. Whelan, IBM, Costa Mesa, CA


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2008 Distinguished Scientists (27):


Douglas C. Burger, Microsoft Research Frederick E. Petry, Naval Research Laboratory
Murray Campbell, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center  Vir V. Phoha, Louisiana Tech University
Yih-Farn Robin Chen, AT&T Labs – Research Vincenzo Piuri, University of Milan
James R. Cordy, Queen’s University Paul Walton Purdom, Indiana University
Ernesto Damiani, University of Milan Dragomir R. Radev, University of Michigan
Andreas Girgensohn, FX Palo Alto Laboratory Louiqa Raschid, University of Maryland
Robert J. Hall, AT&T Labs Research Debanjan Saha, IBM
Hermann Kaindl, Vienna University of Technology Jeffrey O. Shallit, University of Waterloo
Craig A. Knoblock, University of Southern California Pradip K. Srimani, Clemson University
Donald H. Kraft, Louisiana State University Mark A. Stalzer, California Institute of Technology
Arif A. Merchant, Hewlett Packard Laboratories Frank Tip, IBM Research
Marc A. Najork, Microsoft Research Michael Waidner, IBM Corporation
Mitsunori Ogihara, University of Miami Richard C. Waters, Mitubishi Electric Research Labs
Massoud Pedram, University of Southern California  


For more information about the selection criteria and a complete list, please visit the 2008 Distinguished Members page.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.  


About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field.  These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field.  The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions.  The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.