ACM Names 47 Distinguished Members for Computing Innovations

ACM Names 47 Distinguished Members for Computing Innovations

2010 Recipients Hail from Leading International Universities and Industries

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold

small_ms-word.gif Printable PDF

New York, NYNovember 16, 2010 -- ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) has named 47 of its members as Distinguished Members in recognition of their individual contributions to practical and theoretical aspects of computing that drive innovation and sustain economic competitiveness.  This year’s Distinguished Members include computer engineers and scientists who represent academic and corporate institutions from a broad spectrum of countries and disciplines.  Nearly 40 percent of the 2010 honorees are from non-North American countries, including France, Germany, Italy, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Australia, India, and South Africa. The new Distinguished Members are recognized for significant advances in computing technology that have dramatically influenced progress in science, engineering, business, and many other areas of human endeavor.            

            “This year’s Distinguished Members reflect the growing international diversity of ACM’s membership and our commitment to recognizing excellence throughout the computing world,” said Alain Chesnais, president of ACM.  “These prominent men and women have met the stringent criteria for this honor by demonstrating creativity, leadership, and dedication to computing and computer science.  Their achievements buttress the innovations that sustain competitiveness in a global economy.  We applaud their entrepreneurial and creative spirit and its beneficial impact on society.” 

The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.  ACM’s current worldwide membership exceeds 97,000. 

Some 60 percent of the 2010 recipients are from leading research and academic institutions around the world.  They were recognized for achievements in cybersecurity, software engineering and architecture, data mining and management, Web systems, 3D user interfaces, interactive multimedia, biomedical computing, and programming language implementation.   

Among representatives from renowned global businesses and industries, recipients were recognized for achievements in Web performance evaluation, computer architecture virtualization, mobile computing, wireless networking, and Web image and information retrieval.  

The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2010 ACM Distinguished Engineers (6):


Mark S. Anderson, Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Australia Carl Waldspuger, VMware, Inc.
Liana L. Fong, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

Dan Wolfson, IBM Software Group

Linda M. Northrop, Software Engineering Institute, Carnegie Mellon University

Andrew Woo, NGRAIN (Canada) Corporation, Vancouver, BC, Canada


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2010 Distinguished Scientists (41)


Divyakant Agrawal, University of California, Santa Barbara Dino G. Mandrioli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Martin F. Arlitt, Hewlett Packard Laboratories/University of Calgary Tshilidzi Marwala, University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Vasanth Bala, IBM Research

Gail C. Murphy, University of British Columbia,               Vancouver, Canada
M. Brian Blake, University of Notre Dame Hwee Tou Ng, National University of Singapore, Republic of Singapore
Doug A. Bowman, Virginia Tech Lori Pollock, University of Delaware
Panos K. Chrysanthis, University of Pittsburgh Ramachandran Ramjee, Microsoft Research India
Elizabeth Churchill, Yahoo! Research Steven K. Reinhardt, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Donald D. Cowan, University of Waterloo Andrew Sears, UMBC, Baltimore
Evelyn Duesterwald, IBM Research Joel I. Seiferas, University of Rochester
Abdulmotaleb El Saddik, University of Ottawa Shiuhpyng Shieh, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Serge Fdida, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France Anand Sivasubramaniam, Pennsylvania State University
Wu-chun Feng, Virginia Tech Kevin Skadron, University of Virginia
Juan E. Gilbert, Clemson University Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas at Dallas
David Grove, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center Walter F. Tichy, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany 
Mary W. Hall, University of Utah  Joseph Touch, University of Southern California 
Y. Charlie Hu, Purdue University  Alec Wolman, Microsoft Research 
Shivkumar Kalyanaraman, IBM Research – India, Bangalore  Kesheng Wu, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 
Huan Liu, Arizona State University  Jun Xu, Georgia Institute of Technology 
Wei-Ying Ma, Microsoft Research Asia, Beijing, China 

Mohammed J. Zaki, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 

Yoelle Maarek, Yahoo! Research, Haifa, Israel Hai Zhuge, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China 
Paul P. Maglio, IBM Research – Almaden  


For more information about the selection criteria and a complete list of 2010 Distinguished Members, please visit the 2010 Distinguished Members page.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.  


About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field.  These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field.  The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions.  The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.