ACM Names 54 Distinguished Members for Contributions to Computing

ACM Names 54 Distinguished Members for Contributions to Computing

2011 Recipients Hail from Leading International Universities and Industries

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold

 Printable Word File

New York, NY, December 15, 2011 -- ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) has named 54 of its members as Distinguished Members for their individual contributions to computing, which are driving innovation and enabling economic competitiveness.  This year’s Distinguished Members include computer scientists, educators, and engineers from leading academic and corporate institutions across countries and continents.  They hail from universities in Australia, China, Greece, Finland, Germany, Italy, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom in addition to North America.  The new Distinguished Members were recognized for significant advances in computing technology that have dramatically influenced progress on a range of human endeavors. 

            “This year’s Distinguished Members reflect ACM’s continuing commitment to recognizing excellence throughout the computing world,” said Alain Chesnais, president of ACM.  “These prominent men and women reflect the global nature of advances in technology that drive education and innovation in the digital information age.  Their achievements provide the foundation for groundbreaking developments that sustain competitiveness in a global economy.  We celebrate their entrepreneurial and creative spirit and their service to the computing community.” 

            The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.  ACM’s current worldwide membership exceeds 100,000. 

            Some 90 percent of the 2011 recipients are from leading research and academic institutions around the world.  They were recognized for achievements in wireless networking, computer vision, mobile computing, disaster information management, content-based image retrieval, artificial intelligence in machine learning, secure data management, biometric recognition, computing curricula, aspect-oriented programming, high-performance computing, multimedia systems for health care applications, and energy efficient systems, among others. 

            Among representatives from renowned global businesses and industries, recipients were recognized for achievements in programming languages and software engineering, mobile networking, sensing and energy research, enterprise social computing, information integration and data warehousing, scalability of network protocols via smart resource usage, and novel technologies that support disabled people.  

            For more information about the selection criteria and the 2011 Distinguished Members, please visit the 2011 Distinguished Members page.

The following ACM Member has been recognized as a 2011 ACM Distinguished Engineer (1):

Aaron Marcus, Aaron Marcus and Associates


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2011 ACM Distinguished Educators (4):


John Impagliazzo, Hofstra University


Richard E. Pattis, University of California, Irvine

Michael Kölling, University of Kent (UK) 


Mark Allen Weiss, Florida International University




The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2011 Distinguished Scientists (49):



Krste Asanovic, University of California, Berkeley

Chih-Jen Lin, National Taiwan University

Benjamin B. Bederson, University of Maryland

Jie Liu, Microsoft Research

Elizabeth M. Belding, University of California, Santa Barbara

Cristina Videira Lopes, University of California, Irvine

Ricardo Bianchini, Rutgers University

Diana Marculescu, Carnegie Mellon University

Stephen M. Blackburn, The Australian National University

Igor L. Markov, University of Michigan

Aaron F. Bobick, Georgia Institute of Technology

Michael Mascagni, Florida State University

Upen Sharma Chakravarthy, University of Texas at Arlington

David R. Millen, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Satish Chandra, IBM Research

Mukesh K. Mohania, IBM India

Jyh-Cheng Chen, National Chiao Tung University (Taiwan)

Frank Mueller, North Carolina State University

Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University

Robert L. Nord, Carnegie Mellon University, Software Engineering Institute

Ingemar J. Cox, University College London

Jignesh M. Patel, University of Wisconsin—Madison

Dilma M. Da Silva, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Li-Shiuan Peh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Marie desJardins, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Balakrishnan Prabhakaran, University of Texas at Dallas

Martin Dietzfelbinger, Technische Universität Ilmenau (Germany)

Parthasarathy Ranganathan, Hewlett Packard Labs

Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria (Italy)

David F. Redmiles, University of California, Irvine

Stephen J. Fink, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Kari-Jouko Räihä, University of Tampere (Finland)

Patrick J. Flynn, University of Notre Dame

Puneet Sharma, Hewlett Packard Labs

Armando Fox, University of California, Berkeley

John T. Stasko, Georgia Institute of Technology

Minos Garofalakis, Technical University of Crete (Greece)

Shari Trewin, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Michael Gleicher, University of Wisconsin—Madison

Laurie Williams, North Carolina State University

Amarnath Gupta, University of California, San Diego

Robert W. Wisniewski, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center 

Clare-Marie Karat, Karat Consulting Group 

Qiang Yang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (China)

Tamara G. Kolda, Sandia National Laboratories 

Yuanyuan Zhou, University of California, San Diego 

Kang-Won Lee, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center 

Benjamin G. Zorn, Microsoft Research 

Sung-Ju Lee, Hewlett Packard Labs 



About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.  


About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field.  These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field.  The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions.  The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.