ACM Recognizes Distinguished Members for Computing Advances that Sustain Competitiveness

ACM Recognizes Distinguished Members for Computing Advances that Sustain Competitiveness

2012 Recipients Embody the Rewards of Participation in the Computing Community

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold
[email protected]

 Printable PDF file

NEW YORK, NY, December 18, 2012 -- ACM has identified 41 of its members as Distinguished Members for their individual contributions  and their singular impacts on the dynamic computing field.  Their achievements have advanced the science, engineering, and education of computing, enabling a range of technologies that drive innovation in the digital age. The 2012 Distinguished Members hail from universities in Australia, Denmark, Italy, Korea, China, and the United Kingdom in addition to North America, and from leading corporations and research institutions around the world. 

“This year’s Distinguished Members demonstrate the advantages of ACM membership, which empowers self-improvement and inspires a bold vision for the future,” said Vinton G. Cerf, president of ACM.  “Through their participation in building the foundations for groundbreaking technologies, they have achieved exemplary levels of professional standing.  We celebrate their entrepreneurial spirit, their creative energy, and their leadership in strengthening the computing community.”
The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.  ACM’s current worldwide membership exceeds 100,000.

Some 68 percent of the 2012 recipients are from academic institutions around the world.  Another 22 percent represent prominent corporate and national research laboratories.  They were recognized for achievements in innovative instruction, wireless networking, network design and routing, computer vision, cybersecurity and data policy and reliability, data management, computational biology, high-performance computing, and energy efficient systems, among others.

Among representatives from renowned global businesses and industries, recipients were honored for achievements in large-scale visualization, information retrieval and machine learning, and sensor networks for protection in hazardous areas.

For more information about the selection criteria and the 2012 Distinguished Members, click on

The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2012 Distinguished Engineers (3):


Murthy Devarakonda
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center 
    Michel Hack
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Kenneth Russell Fast
Electric Boat Corporation


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2012 Distinguished Educators (6):


Joel C. Adams
Calvin College 
     Wanda P. Dann
Carnegie Mellon University 
Lillian (Boots) Cassel
Villanova University
  Dan Garcia
University of California, Berkeley
Stephen C. Cooper
Stanford University
  Barbara Boucher Owens
Southwestern University


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2012 Distinguished Scientists (32):


Nancy M. Amato
Texas A&M University 
     Joseph P. Loyall
Raytheon BBN Technologies
Ruth Iris Bahar
Brown University
  Maged M. Michael
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Edward Wes Bethel
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  Michael Muller
IBM Research
Athman Bouguettaya
RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia
  Erich M. Nahum
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Ian Brown
University of Oxford
  Torben Bach Pedersen
Aalborg University, Denmark
K. Selcuk Candan
Arizona State University
  Vijay V. Raghavan
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Naehyuck Chang
Seoul National University
  Sudipta Sengupta
Microsoft Research
Chen-Nee Chuah
University of California, Davis
  Sandeep K. Shukla
Virginia Tech 
Evgeniy Gabrilovich
  Mei-Ling Shyu
University of Miami 
Wendi Beth Heinzelman
University of Rochester
  Peter F. Sweeney
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Antony L. Hosking
Purdue University
  Peri Tarr
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center 
Daniel A. Jiménez
Texas A&M University
  Jeffrey S. Vetter
Oak Ridge National Laboratory/
Georgia Institute of Technology
Kimberly Keeton
Hewlett Packard Labs
  Jennifer L. Welch
Texas A&M University
Angelos Dennis Keromytis
Columbia University
  Changsheng Xu
Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences 
Latifur Khan
University of Texas, Dallas
  Franco Zambonelli
Universitá di Modena e Reggio Emilia
Ninghui Li
Purdue University
  Wenwu Zhu
Tsinghua University

About ACM
ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking. 
About the ACM Recognition Program
The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field.  These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field.  The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions.  The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.