ACM Seeks Young Researchers to Join Computing and Math Laureates at Heidelberg Forum

International Event Offers Unique Opportunity to Share Ideas with Legends of Innovation

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold

Printable PDF file

NEW YORK, December 17, 2013 – Following the successful inaugural gathering of young researchers and recipients of the highest awards in computer science and mathematics in 2013, ACM is calling for applications from outstanding computing and math researchers to attend the 2014 Heidelberg Forum.   The event provides an environment for personal communication among people dedicated to science, role models, and young researchers.  It aims to bolster the number of students engaged in advancing technology in the digital age. In last year’s inaugural event, the forum attracted 40 winners of the most prestigious awards in computer science and mathematics, including the ACM Turing Award, the Nevanlinna Prize, the Abel Prize and the Fields Medal, and 200 young researchers.   Applications for these sought-after research spots at the Forum will be accepted until February 28, 2014.



ACM President Vinton Cerf, an ACM Turing Award recipient said the Heidelberg Forum attracts high-profile international award recipients who have the perspective to engage in deep discussions about research directions that advance science and technology.  “As a participant in the first Heidelberg Forum last September, I can attest that the young computing and math researchers experienced extraordinary opportunities to engage and learn from each of the award recipients as well as each other, making it a highly successful event.  This gathering can mobilize interactions between the innovators and understudies who will be the next award recipients,” he said.


The 2014 Heidelberg Forum, September 21-26, in Heidelberg, Germany, is an inspiring example of industry-academia collaboration that presents top-level research in computer science and mathematics to aspiring researchers in these dynamic fields.  The forum combines scientific and social events for the 100 researchers who represent each discipline.  The forum also undertakes outreach activities to attract the general public’s interest, with the objective of reaching an even younger generation of students not yet converted to the science cause.  Most events related to the forum will be accessible worldwide via live streams and as recordings in a media archive after the event.


Testimonials from the 2013 inaugural attendees and videos of the computing and mathematics laureates’ presentations are accessible at


About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence.  ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.


About the Heidelberg Laureate Forum

The Heidelberg Forum was initiated by the Klaus Tschira Stiftung (KTS), a German foundation supporting the natural sciences, mathematics and computer science, and the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS). It is organized in collaboration with the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM; Turing Award), the International Mathematical Union (IMU; Fields Medal) and the Norwegian Academy for Science and Letters (DNVA; Abel Prize).  It is modeled after the annual meetings of Nobel laureates in Lindau, Germany.


About the ACM Turing Award

The ACM Turing Award, widely considered the "Nobel Prize in Computing," carries a $250,000 prize, with financial support provided by Intel Corporation and Google Inc.  It was named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing, and who was a key contributor to the Allied cryptanalysis of the German Enigma cipher and the German “Tunny” encoding machine in World War II. Since its inception in 1966, the Turing Award has honored the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry.



# # #