ACM Honors Distinguished Computer Scientists, Engineers and Educators for Innovations

ACM Honors Distinguished Computer Scientists, Engineers and Educators for Innovations

2013 Members Selected for Individual Achievements and Contributions to International Computing Community

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold

pdf logo Printable PDF file


NEW YORK, NY, November 20, 2013—ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) has named 40 Distinguished Members for their individual contributions and their singular impacts on the vital field of computing.  Their achievements have advanced the science, engineering, and education of computing, and highlight the widening role that computing plays in a range of disciplines and domains around the globe. The 2013 Distinguished Members hail from universities in Denmark, Japan, Israel, Italy, China, and the United Kingdom in addition to North America, and from leading international corporations and research institutions.  

ACM President Vinton G. Cerf described the recipients as “the problem solvers, prophets, and producers who are powering the future of the digital age.”  He noted that these ACM members “are the driving force for enabling the computing community to change how we live and work. They demonstrate the advantages of ACM membership, which empowers self-improvement and inspires a bold vision for their own careers as well as their impact on the future.”  

The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.  ACM’s current worldwide membership exceeds 100,000. 

Seventy percent of the 2013 recipients are from leading international academic institutions around the world.  Another 30 percent represent prominent corporate and national research laboratories from North America, the UK, Europe and India.  Their achievements in critical areas of computing include high performance computing, computer architecture, data management, user interface, cybersecurity, wireless network management, software engineering, and innovative instruction.  

For more information about the selection criteria and the 2013 Distinguished Members, click on


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2013 Distinguished  Educators:


Owen Astrachan
Duke University
  Michael Caspersen
Aarhus University (Denmark)
Douglas Jacobson
Iowa State University
  Thomas L. Naps
University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2013 Distinguished  Engineers:


Rong N. Chang
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  James H. Cownie
Intel Corporation (UK) Ltd
Marcus Fontoura
Google Inc.
  Terence P. Kelly
Hewlett Packard Labs
Ray Simar
Rice University
  Patrick H. Worley
Oak Ridge National Laboratory


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2013 Distinguished Scientists:


Saurabh Bagchi
Purdue University
  Ethan L. Miller
University of California, Santa Cruz
Fred Chong
University of California, Santa Barbara
  T. M. Murali
Virginia Tech
Graham Cormode
University of Warwick, Coventry, UK
  Jitendra D. Padhye
Microsoft Research
Prasad M. Deshpande
IBM Research, India
  Sushil Prasad
Georgia State University
Maria R. Ebling
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
  Lili Qiu
University of Texas at Austin
Mark Giesbrecht
University of Waterloo
  Gregg Rothermel
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Takahiro Hara
Osaka University (Japan)
  Paolo Santi
Istituto di Informatica e Telematica del CNR (Italy)
Tobias H. Höllerer
University of California, Santa Barbara
  Evgenia Smirni
College of William and Mary
Vanja Josifovski
Google Inc.
  Geoffrey Smith
Florida International University
Günter Karjoth
IBM Research—Zurich
  Il-Yeol Song
Drexel University
Tsvi Kuflik
The University of Haifa
  Eswaran Subrahmanian
Carnegie Mellon University
Yung-Hsiang Lu
Purdue University
  André van der Hoek
University of California, Irvine
Jock D. Mackinlay
Tableau Software
  R. Michael Young
North Carolina State University
Sriganesh Madhvanath
Hewlett Packard Labs
  Zhi-Hua Zhou
Nanjing University (China)
Filippo Menczer
Indiana University
  Qiang Zhu
University of Michigan—Dearborn

About ACM
ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program
The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.