ACM's Distinguished Computer Scientists, Engineers and Educators Cited for Global Reach, Real-World Impact

2014 Members Recognized for Contributions to Hardware, Software and Communications

The Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession

Contact: Virginia Gold

Printable PDF file


NEW YORK, NY, December 4, 2014—ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) has designated 49 scientists, engineers and educators as Distinguished Members for their individual contributions and their singular impacts on the vital field of computing. Their achievements have had a significant influence on the social, economic and cultural areas of daily lives all over the world. The 2014 Distinguished Members are from universities in Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Netherlands, Sweden, Japan, India, the United Kingdom and North America, and from leading international corporations and research institutions.

ACM President Alexander Wolf hailed these ACM members as "drivers of the advances and inventions that are propelling the information revolution in new directions. Their creativity and commitment to their craft ensures that we will benefit as a society in the digital age." He added that these innovators "demonstrate the advantages of ACM membership, which empowers and inspires a bold vision for advancing computing and the computing community."

The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. ACM's current worldwide membership exceeds 100,000.

Eighty percent of the 2014 recipients are from leading international academic institutions around the world. The rest represent prominent corporate and national research laboratories from North America, Europe, India and Japan. Their achievements in critical computing areas include innovative instruction and curriculum design, systems design and architecture, critical systems security, Internet structure and security, high performance computing, human-computer interaction, programming languages, mobile and wireless networks, database research and management, and software engineering.

For more information about the selection criteria and the 2014 Distinguished Members, click on


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2014 Distinguished Educators:


Judith Bishop
Microsoft Research
        Stephen Hilary Edwards
Virginia Tech
Jeffrey Gray
University of Alabama
        Mark J. Guzdial
Georgia Institute of Technology
Kevin Wayne
Princeton University


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2014 Distinguished Engineers:


Jose Nelson Amaral  
University of Alberta  
                      Sreeranga P. Rajan
Fujitsu Laboratories of America


The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2014 Distinguished Scientists:


Gabriele Anderst-Kotsis
Johannes Kepler University Linz
  David R. Kaeli
Northeastern University
Paul Barford
University of Wisconsin
  Li Erran Li
Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Clark Barrett
New York University
  Xiang-Yang Li
Illinois Institute of Technology
Patrick Baudisch
Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam
  Jason Xiaowen Liu
Florida International University
Valeria Bertacco
University of Michigan
  Dmitri Loguinov
Texas A&M University
Martin Burtscher
Texas State University
  Gabriel Loh
AMD Research
Danny Z. Chen
University of Notre Dame
  Robyn Lutz
Iowa State University
Jianer Chen
Texas A&M University
  Tamiya Onodera
IBM Research–Tokyo
Ed H. Chi
Google Inc.
  Manish Parashar
Rutgers University
Allison Druin
University of Maryland
  Nitendra Rajput
IBM Research, India
Matthew Flatt
University of Utah
  Lawrence Rauchwerger
Texas A&M University
Silvia Giordano
University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland (SUPSI)
  Binoy Ravindran
Virginia Tech
Ganesh L. Gopalakrishnan
University of Utah
  Timothy Peter Sherwood
University of California, Santa Barbara
Marco Gruteser
Rutgers University
  Rajeev Shorey
TCS Innovation Lab, Cincinnati,USA/Bangalore, India
Lynda Hardman
CWI (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica)
  Krishna Moorthy Sivalingam
Indian Institute of Technology Madras
Simon Harper
University of Manchester
  Mike Spreitzer
IBM Research, Yorktown Heights
Ahmed Helmy
University of Florida
  Biplav Srivastava
IBM Research, India
Yiwei Thomas Hou
Virginia Tech
  Miroslav N. Velev
Aries Design Automation, LLC
Kristina Höök
Mobile Life, KTH (Royal Institute of Technology) Sweden
  Duncan Moore "Hank" Walker
Texas A&M University
Ihab Francis Ilyas
University of Waterloo
  Hui Xiong
Rutgers University
Somesh Jha
University of Wisconsin
  Lenore D. Zuck
University of Illinois at Chicago

About ACM
ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking. 

About the ACM Recognition Program 
The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end-users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.