ACM People in the News

"The ethics of computer science: this researcher has a controversial proposal"
Nature, July 26, 2018
ACM Future of Computing Academy Chair Brent Hecht says peer reviewers must ensure that researchers consider negative societal consequences of their work.

"Ethics, GDPR, and diversity: Verdict talks to the president of the Association for Computing Machinery"
The Verdict (UK), July 19, 2018
In an interview, ACM President Cherri Pancake talks about her rise to the top in a male-dominated industry and some of the important work ACM is doing in making computing technology fit for the digital age.

"’I Was Devastated’: Tim Berners-Lee, the Man Who Created the World Wide Web, Has Some Regrets"
Vanity Fair, August 2018
ACM A.M. Turing Award recipient Berners-Lee has seen his creation debased by everything from fake news to mass surveillance. But he’s got a plan to fix it.

"Interacting With Students Provides Rewards That Are Hard to Beat"
Silicon Republic, June 25, 2018
In an interview, Baldwin Wallace University's Jodi Tims, chair of ACM's Council on Women in Computing (ACM-W), discusses how an academic career in computer science offers exceptional rewards.

"International Award for Strathclyde Computer Science Professor"
University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, June 19, 2018
Andrew McGettrick, an emeritus professor of computer science at the University of Strathclyde, is one of three 2018 awardees of the ACM Presidential Award.

"Association for Computing Machinery elects Brazilian new board member"
Plantao News (Brazil), June 13, 2018
Claudia Bauzer Medeiros named an ACM board Member-at-Large.

"Turing Award Recipients Cerf and Kahn to Receive Benjamin Franklin Medal"
The Franklin Institute, April 17, 2018
2004 ACM A.M. Turing Award co-recipients Vinton Cerf and Robert Kahn will receive the 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science for enabling the Internet by developing TCP/IP, at a ceremony on April 19.

"Why Software Developers Should Take Ethics into Consideration"
InfoQ, March 8, 2018
Interview with Circonus CEO and ACM Practitioners Board member Theo Schlossnagle.

"Tech luminaries we lost in 2017 "
Computerworld, December 29, 2017
Overview of tech luminaries who passed away in 2017 lists ACM Fellows Robert W. Taylor and Peter Wegner, ACM’s first female president Jean Sammet, and ACM Turing Award recipients Chuck Thacker and Charles Bachman.

"The Computer Scientist Who Prefers Paper"
The Atlantic, December 2017
Former ACM President and USACM Co-chair Barbara Simons continues to work on electronic voting security issues.

ACM People in the News 2017

ACM in the News

Read stories about ACM and ACM members highlighted in the media.