ACM's Distinguished Members Cited for Advances in Computing that Will Yield Real World Impact

Worldwide Assemblage Includes Prominent Computer Scientists, Engineers and Educators

NEW YORK, NY, November 19, 2015—From the hottest new features on our mobile devices, to efforts to prevent a cyber war from damaging critical infrastructure systems, and even the ways in which advances in database management improve our next visit to the doctor, achievements in computing tangibly impact our daily lives. In selecting 49 computing leaders as 2015 ACM Distinguished Members, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the world’s leading association of computing professionals, is highlighting how the work of these innovators is changing the world. This special recognition grade from ACM honors members working in the areas of education, engineering and science (see complete list below).

"Whenever we use an app on our phone to get driving directions, securely pay bills online, or conduct an internet search, we are benefiting from the research and efforts of computing professionals," explains ACM President Alexander L. Wolf. "By honoring the 2015 ACM Distinguished Members, we hope to reinforce this idea. For each of our 100,000+ members around the world, learning about the achievements of their peers means connecting to new advances and promising research. For the general public, our recognition and awards program serves as a reminder that the technology we all take for granted springs from a dedicated community of professionals who are building on the foundations of their predecessors and shaping the future in significant new ways."

The 2015 ACM Distinguished Members are drawn from leading academic institutions, as well as corporate and national research laboratories around the world. Demonstrating the global nature of ACM, the roster of 2015 ACM Distinguished Members hail from Argentina, Belgium, Canada, China, Egypt, Finland, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Portugal, Qatar, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Areas of specialty of the 2015 Distinguished Members include curriculum design, systems design and architecture, critical systems security, internet structure and security, high performance computing, human-computer interaction, programming languages, mobile and wireless networks, database management, and software engineering. The criteria for selection to the Distinguished Member grade include at least 15 years of professional experience, five years of continuous ACM membership, and significant accomplishments or impact within the computing field.

To learn more about the nomination process, visit


Distinguished Educators:
Elizabeth K. Hawthorne
Union County College
Clifford A. Shaffer
Virginia Tech

Distinguished Engineers:
Jayanta Basak
Warren A. Hunt, Jr.
The University of Texas
Nicholas Bowen
Stevens Institute of Technology
Kiyokuni Kawachiya
IBM Research—Tokyo
Donald George Firesmith
Software Engineering Institute

Distinguished Scientists:
Ashraf Aboulnaga
Qatar Computing Research Institute, HBKU
Prabhat Mishra
University of Florida
Gail-Joon Ahn
Arizona State University
Nachiappan Nagappan
Microsoft Research
N. Asokan
Aalto University and University of Helsinki
Walid A Najjar
University of California, Riverside
Stefano Basagni
Northeastern University
Amit Anil Nanavati
IBM Research India
James "Bo" Begole
Huawei R&D, USA
Nuria Oliver
Telefonica R&D
Rajesh R. Bordawekar
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Konstantina Papagiannaki
Telefonica R&D
Margaret Burnett
Oregon State University
Ian Parberry
University of North Texas
Charles L. A. Clarke
University of Waterloo
Cynthia A. Phillips
Sandia National Laboratories
James Davis
University of California, Santa Cruz
Ali Pinar
Sandia National Laboratories
George Forman
HP Labs, HP Inc.
Nalini K Ratha
IBM T. J. Watson Research Ctr.
Andrei Gurtov
Helsinki Institute for Information Technology, HIIT, Aalto University
Ravi Ramamoorthi
Univ. of California, San Diego
Carl Gutwin
University of of Saskatchewan
Jörg Sander
University of Alberta
Hakan Hacigumus
Adrian Sandu
Virginia Tech
Aaron P Hertzmann
Adobe Systems
Leonel Sousa
INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Martin Hirzel
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Michela Taufer
University of Delaware
Xian-Sheng Hua
Alibaba Group
Sebastian Uchitel
Imperial College London/University of Buenos Aires
Graham Hutton
University of Nottingham
Jaideep Vaidya
Rutgers University
Hang Li
Huawei Technologies
Tao Xie
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Xuelong Li
Chinese Academy of Sciences, PR China
Moustafa Amin Youssef
Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology
Chang-Tien Lu
Virginia Tech
Ben Yanbin Zhao
University of California, Santa Barbara
Ratul Mahajan
Microsoft Corporation
Nenad Medvidovic
University of Southern California

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file