Renamed "ACM Prize in Computing" to Recognize Contributions By Young Professionals

Infosys Raises Award to $250,000; Recipients Will Join Heidelberg Laureate Forum

New York, NY and Bangalore, India , November 14, 2016– ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s largest society of computing professionals, today announced that the ACM-Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences has been renamed the ACM Prize in Computing. Infosys will continue to fund the award, which recognizes computing professionals in the early to middle stages of their careers. In conjunction with the renaming of the award, the corresponding cash prize has been increased to $250,000.

The ACM Prize in Computing recognizes computing professionals for early-to-mid-career, fundamental, innovative contributions in computing that, through depth, impact and broad implications, exemplify the greatest achievements in the discipline. The inaugural ACM-Infosys Foundation Award in the Computing Sciences was awarded in 2007 to Daphne Koller.

In addition to Koller, past recipients have included Stefan Savage (2015), Dan Boneh (2014), David Blei (2013), Jeff Dean and Sanjay Ghemawat (2012), Sanjeev Arora (2011), Frans Kaashoek (2010), Eric Brewer (2009), and Jon Kleinberg (2008).

“Many people know that ACM bestows the A.M. Turing Award, often referred to as ‘the Nobel Prize of Computing’ and our field’s most prestigious honor,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “However, by focusing on early- and mid-career professionals, the ACM Prize highlights innovations that are changing paradigms and reshaping technology in ways that will lay future foundations in the field.”

“An awards program serves to educate the public about how important research and achievement impacts society,” adds Dr. Vishal Sikka, CEO of Infosys. “The computing field, where the pace of change is more rapid than other disciplines, has experienced unprecedented transformations during the past 10 years. In addition to giving credit to these young visionaries, the ACM Prize will enlighten the public about the underpinnings that make technological advances possible.”

Underscoring the renaming and prestige of the award, the Heidelberg Laurate Forum Foundation has simultaneously announced that ACM Prize in Computing recipients will now be invited to participate in the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF). HLF is an annual networking event for mathematicians and computing scientists from all over the world. Each September, HLF brings the laureates of the major awards in computer science and mathematics together with brilliant young researchers from around the globe to Heidelberg, Germany for a week of intensive exchange. ACM Prize recipients will join laureates of the ACM A.M. Turing Award (computer science), the Abel Prize (mathematics), the Fields Medal (mathematics), and the Nevanlinna Prize (mathematics).

The recipient of the 2016 ACM Prize in Computing will be announced in April 2017 and formally recognized at ACM’s annual awards banquet in San Francisco in June 2017.

About Infosys

Infosys is a global leader in next-generation digital services and consulting. Over 300,000 of our people work to amplify human potential and create the next opportunity for people, businesses and communities. We enable clients in more than 56 countries to navigate their digital transformation. With over four decades of experience in managing the systems and workings of global enterprises, we expertly steer clients, as they navigate their digital transformation powered by cloud and AI. We enable them with an AI-first core, empower the business with agile digital at scale and drive continuous improvement with always-on learning through the transfer of digital skills, expertise, and ideas from our innovation ecosystem. We are deeply committed to being a well-governed, environmentally sustainable organization where diverse talent thrives in an inclusive workplace. Visit to see how Infosys (NSE, BSE, NYSE: INFY) can help your enterprise navigate your next.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF File