ACM Recognizes Distinguished Members for Computing Innovations that Transform Society

2016 Members Selected for Individual Achievements that Expand Scientific Frontiers and Advance the Digital Age

NEW YORK, NY, November 30, 2016—ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 45 Distinguished Members for their individual contributions to the field of computing. Their achievements have advanced the science, engineering and education of computing, and highlight the growing role of computing in the major technological advances shaping society today.

"The contributions of our Distinguished Members lead to breakthroughs that improve our lives, advance the frontiers of scientific discovery, and boost economic development,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “Our global roster of 2016 Distinguished Members reminds us that excellence in our field knows no borders. For all our new Distinguished Members, we celebrate their dedication to computing, their creativity, and their exemplary professional accomplishments."

The 2016 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world, including Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Korea, Japan, the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, the United Kingdom, and the United States. These trailblazers have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including computer science education, data privacy, security, computer networking, machine learning, distributed systems, multimedia computing, human-computer interaction, programming languages, mobile and wireless networks, database management, information retrieval, computational biology, molecular computing, and software engineering, among others.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. For more information about selection criteria and the 2016 Distinguished Members, visit


Distinguished Educators:
Michael Clancy
University of California, Berkeley  
Michelle Craig
University of Toronto
Amruth N. Kumar
Ramapo College of New Jersey
K.R. Venugopal
University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering (UVCE)/Bangalore University

Distinguished Engineers:
David Carmel
Yahoo Research
Emden R. Gansner
Matthew L. Cooper
FX Palo Alto Laboratory
Tie-Yan Liu
Microsoft Research Asia
Rudra Dutta
North Carolina State University
Heiko Ludwig
IBM Research
Hubertus Franke
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center    
Jacquelyn Martino
David Ayman Shamma
Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica

Distinguished Scientists:
Joanne M. Atlee
University of Waterloo
Fabio Kon
University of São Paulo
Sonia Bergamaschi
University of Modena and Reggio Emilia
Laks V.S. Lakshmanan
University of British Columbia
Raheem A. Beyah
Georgia Institute of Technology
Stefano Lonardi
University of California, Riverside
Tevfik Bultan
University of California, Santa Barbara
Sanjay Madria
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Shigang Chen
University of Florida
Tao Mei
Microsoft Research Asia
Otfried Cheong
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)    
Suman Nath
Microsoft Research
Shing-Chi Cheung
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
George Necula
University of California, Berkeley
Alberto del Bimbo
University of Florence
Chong-Wah Ngo
City University of Hong Kong
Josep Domingo-Ferrer
Universitat Rovira i Virgili
Corina Pasareanu
Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley and NASA Ames Research Center
Sebastian Elbaum
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Marian Petre
The Open University.
Geraldine Fitzpatrick
TU Wien
Weisong Shi
Wayne State University
Zhenjiang Hu
National Institute of Informatics
Prasun Sinha
Ohio State University
Gang Hua
Microsoft Research
Darko Stefanovic
University of New Mexico
Pan Hui
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Yufei Tao
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Katherine Isbister
University of California, Santa Cruz
Shuicheng Yan
Qihoo/360 and National University of Singapore
Murat Kantarcioglu
University of Texas at Dallas
Yu Zheng
Microsoft Research/Shanghai Jiao Tong University

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file