Infosys Foundation USA, ACM and CSTA Announce Awards for Teaching Excellence in Computer Science

New York, October 3, 2016 Infosys Foundation USA, ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s leading computing society, and CSTA, the Computer Science Teachers Association, are pleased to announce the launch of the Awards for Teaching Excellence in Computer Science. Up to 10 awards of $10,000 each will be awarded annually.

Funding for the awards is being provided by Infosys Foundation USA. “Computer science teachers in K-12/pre-university represent an emerging profession.  By founding this award, Infosys Foundation USA is sending a powerful message to these computing educators worldwide that what they are doing is indeed important,” said Dr. Mark R. Nelson, CSTA’s Executive Director.

Leaders from education, technology and business recognize that the demand for computer science education cannot be met in the coming years without a dedicated workforce of well-trained computer science teachers. ACM founded and houses CSTA, which has grown to more than 23,000 members in 146 countries, to address the need for qualified computer science educators.

“As technology transforms every aspect of our lives, computer science teachers shoulder a tremendous responsibility as stewards of our children’s CS education that will influence and shape our digital future,” says Vandana Sikka, Chairperson, Infosys Foundation USA. “Infosys Foundation USA is pleased to celebrate and honor outstanding computer science teachers throughout the world.”

“Great computer science education starts with great teachers,” explains Vicki L. Hanson, ACM President. “This new award reinforces our long-held goals of recognizing the contributions of computer science teachers and building a framework that supports their professional development.”

Applications and nominations for the awards are now available. The deadline for applications is November 1. The awards are open to K-12/pre-university computer science teachers from around the globe. For more information about the award criteria, eligibility requirements, or to apply, please visit the Awards for Teaching Excellence in Computer Science page.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About CSTA

CSTA's mission is to empower, engage and advocate for K-12 computer science teachers worldwide. CSTA is a membership organization which supports and promotes the teaching of computer science and other computing disciplines. The Association for Computing Machinery founded CSTA as part of its commitment to K-12 computer science education.

About Infosys Foundation USA

Infosys Foundation USA is focused on bridging the digital divide in America by supporting high-quality computer science education and coding skills with a particular focus on underrepresented communities. It aims to give children and young adults the skills they need to become creators, not just consumers, of technology. In pursuit of this mission, the Foundation has partnered with internationally acclaimed non-profits and institutions like, Computer Science Teachers Association,, and the CREATE Lab at Carnegie Mellon University. In addition, Infosys Foundation USA committed a million dollars to the Infy Maker Awards to inspire makers across the U.S. to demonstrate creative excellence in making projects with genuine impact. Learn more and follow us on Twitter @InfyFoundation or Facebook.

Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Chris Crucetti
[email protected]

Printable PDF File