ACM Recognizes 2017 Distinguished Members as Pioneering Innovators that Are Advancing the Digital Age

Global Roster Selected for Outstanding Scientific, Engineering and Educational Contributions to Computing

NEW YORK, NY, November 8, 2017—ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 43 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. As a group, the 2017 Distinguished Members are responsible for an extraordinary array of achievements, reflecting the many distinct areas of research and practice in the computing and information technology fields.

"Computing technology is becoming an increasingly dominant force in our daily lives and is transforming society at every level,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “In naming a new roster of Distinguished Members each year, ACM underscores that the innovations which improve our lives do not come about by accident, but rather are the result of the hard work, inspiration and creativity of leading professionals in the field. We honor the 2017 class of ACM Distinguished Members for the essential role their accomplishments play in how we live and work."

The 2017 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world, including Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, and the United States. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including accessibility, computational geometry, cryptography, computer security, computer science education, data structures, healthcare technologies, human-computer interaction, nanoscale computing, robotics, and software engineering —to name a few.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. 


For Educational Contributions to Computing:

Gail Chapman
Exploring Computer Science     
James H. Cross II
Auburn University
Cay S. Horstmann
San Jose State University
Renée A. McCauley
College of Charleston
Judithe Sheard
Monash University

For Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Sharad Agarwal
Microsoft AI & Research
Ashish Kundu
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Sam H. Noh
Ulsan National Institute of Science & Technology     
Theo Schlossnagle
Circonus, Inc.

For Contributions to Computing:

Kirk W. Cameron
Virginia Tech
Matt Huenerfauth
Rochester Institute of Technology
Wessel Kraaij
Leiden University & TNO   

For Scientific Contributions to Computing:

David Atienza Alonso
Ecole Polytechnic Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)              
Meredith Ringel Morris
Microsoft Research
Srinivas Aluru
Georgia Institute of Technology
John Owens
University of California, Davis
Sihem Amer-Yahia
Centre National de Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Lynne E. Parker
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Winslow Burleson
New York University
Mauro Pezzè
Università della Svizzera italiana
Università degli studi di Milano Bicocca
Jian-Nong Cao
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Lucian Popa
IBM Research-Almaden
Siu-Wing Cheng
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology   
Hridesh Rajan
Iowa State University
Christopher W. Clifton
Purdue University
Kui Ren
University at Buffalo, the State University of New York
Myra B. Cohen
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ken Salem
University of Waterloo
Ian Goldberg
University of Waterloo
Jean Vanderdonckt
Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Jimmy Xiangji Huang
York University
Willem C. Visser
Stellenbosch University, South Africa
Joaquim Armando Pires Jorge
INESC-ID / Técnico / Universidade de Lisboa
Rebecca N. Wright
Rutgers University
James B. D. Joshi
University of Pittsburgh
Cathy H. Wu
University of Delaware
Vijay Kumar
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Dong Yu
Hai “Helen” Li
Duke University
Roger Zimmermann
National University of Singapore
Qiaozhu Mei
University of Michigan
Thomas Zimmermann 
Microsoft Research
Mohamed F. Mokbel
Qatar Computing Research Institute / University of Minnesota         

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file