ACM Recognizes 2019 Distinguished Members for Educational, Engineering and Scientific Contributions to Computing

New Class, Cited for Accomplishments in Diverse Areas of Computing, Reflects ACM’s Global Reach

New York, NY, October 30, 2019—ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 62 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. All 2019 inductees are longstanding ACM members and were selected by their peers for a range of accomplishments that have contributed to technologies that underpin how we live, work and play.

"Each year it is our honor to select a new class of Distinguished Members,” explains ACM President Cherri M. Pancake. “In everything we do, our overarching goal is to build a community wherein computing professionals can grow professionally and, in turn, contribute to the field and the broader society. We are delighted to recognize these individuals for their contributions to computing, and we hope that the careers of the 2019 ACM Distinguished Members will continue to prosper through their participation with ACM."

The 2019 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world, and hail from Canada, China, Germany, Ireland, Qatar, Singapore, Taiwan, the United Kingdom and the United States. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including artificial intelligence, human-computer interaction, computer engineering, computer science education, cybersecurity, graphics, and networking.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. To be nominated, a candidate must have at least 15 years of professional experience in the computing field, 5 years of continuous professional ACM membership, and have achieved a significant level of accomplishment, or made a significant impact in the field of computing, computer science and/or information technology. In addition, it is expected that a Distinguished Member serves as a mentor and role model, guiding technical career development and contributing to the field beyond the norm.


For Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing:

Valerie B. Barr
Mount Holyoke College     
Mehran Sahami
Stanford University
Kim B. Bruce
Pomona College
Amber Settle
DePaul University
Thomas Cortina
Carnegie Mellon University
Jodi L. Tims
Northeastern University
Andrea Danyluk
Williams College
Charles C. Weems Jr.
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Manuel A. Pérez Quiñones
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

For Outstanding Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Mark Berman
Raytheon BBN Technologies    
Martin Reddy
Weidong Cui
Microsoft Research     

For Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing:

Mary Baker
HP Inc.
Alex X. Liu
Ant Financial Services Group
Andrew Begel
Microsoft Research
David Lo
Singapore Management University
Eric Bodden
Heinz Nixdorf Institut at Paderborn University & Fraunhofer IEM      
Pinyan Lu
Shanghai University of Finance and Economics
Susanne Boll
University of Oldenburg
Shan Lu
University of Chicago
Oliver Brdiczka
Adobe Inc.
Mahesh Marina
University of Edinburgh
Yuriy Brun
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Kamesh Munagala
Duke University
Ali R. Butt
Virginia Tech   
Mark W. Newman
University of Michigan
Haibo Chen
Shanghai Jiao Tong University   
Fatma Özcan
IBM Research-Almaden
Adam Chlipala
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dario Pompili
Rutgers University
Landon Cox
Microsoft Research
Konstantinos Psounis
University of Southern California
Roberto Di Pietro
Hamad Bin Khalifa University
Meikang Qiu
Harrisburg University
Gavin Doherty
Trinity College Dublin
Chandan K Reddy
Virginia Tech
Guofei Gu
Texas A&M University
Shourya Roy
American Express AI Labs
Minyi Guo
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Heng Tao Shen
University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
Zhu Han
University of Houston
Luo Si
Alibaba Group Inc.
Tsung-Yi Ho
National Tsing Hua University
Manu Sridharan
University of California, Riverside
Steven Chu Hong Hoi
Salesforce Research Asia & Singapore Management University
Hari Sundaram
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Yan Huang
University of North Texas         
Jian Tang
Syracuse University
Jeffrey A. Johnson
University of San Francisco         
Stephanie D. Teasley
University of Michigan
Karrie G. Karahalios
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Vincent Shin-Mu Tseng
National Chiao Tung University
Florian Kerschbaum
University of Waterloo
Joerg Widmer
IMDEA Networks Institute
Irwin Kuo-Chin King
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Xing Xie
Microsoft Research Asia
Benjamin C. Lee
Duke University
Li Xiong
Emory University
Dongwon Lee
Pennsylvania State University
Jun Yang
Duke University
Mo Li
Nanyang Technological University
Haitao Zheng
University of Chicago

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file