ACM Recognizes 2020 Distinguished Members for Contributions that Propel the Digital Age

Longstanding Members Cited for Significant Achievements across the Computing Field

New York, NY, December 16, 2020—ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 64 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. All 2020 inductees are longstanding ACM members and were selected by their peers for a range of accomplishments that move the computing field forward.

"The active participation of ACM members, in our organization, and in the field more broadly, is the foundation of a global scientific society,” explains ACM President Gabriele Kotsis. “With the Distinguished Member designation, ACM celebrates specific contributions of these members and their career growth as reflected in a long-term commitment to the field, as well as their collaboration with peers in supporting a global professional association for the benefit of all."

The 2020 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions in Australia, Canada, China, India, Qatar, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, the United Kingdom and the United States. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including data science, mobile and pervasive computing, artificial intelligence, computer science education, computer engineering, graphics, cybersecurity, and networking, among many other areas.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. To be nominated, a candidate must have at least 15 years of professional experience in the computing field, five years of professional ACM membership in the last 10 years, and have achieved a significant level of accomplishment, or made a significant impact in the field of computing, computer science and/or information technology. In addition, it is expected that a Distinguished Member serves as a mentor and role model, guiding technical career development and contributing to the field beyond the norm.


For Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing:

Tiffany Barnes
North Carolina State University     
Deepak Kumar
Bryn Mawr College
Barbara J. Ericson
University of Michigan
Gloria Childress Townsend
DePauw University

For Outstanding Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Eric W. Burger
Georgetown University    
Qi He
Josiah Dykstra
National Security Agency     
Anees Shaikh

For Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing:

Nael Abu-Ghazaleh
University of California, Riverside
Shuiwang Ji
Texas A&M University
Fan Bai
General Motors Research
Julie A. Kientz
University of Washington
Pavan Balaji
Argonne National Laboratory
Yunyao Li
IBM Research - Almaden
Jernej Barbic
University of Southern California
Xue (Steve) Liu
McGill University & Samsung AI Center - Montreal
Michael A. Bender
Stony Brook University
Yan Liu
University of Southern California
Sourav S. Bhowmick
Nanyang Technological University
Alessio Lomuscio
Imperial College London
Christian Bird
Microsoft Research   
Xiaosong Ma
Qatar Computing Research Institute, HBKU
Daniel Boley
University of Minnesota   
Ashwin Machanavajjhala
Duke University
Longbing Cao
University of Technology Sydney
Andrew McGregor
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Carlos Castillo
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Shahrad Mehrotra
University of California, Irvine
Pablo Cesar
Centrum Wiskunde en Informatica
Samuel Pratt Midkiff
Purdue University
Hao Chen
University of California, Davis
Sudip Misra
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
Minghua Chen
City University of Hong Kong
Jeffrey Nichols
Albert Mo Kim Cheng
University of Houston
Alessandro Orso
Georgia Institute of Technology
Wen-Huang Cheng
National Chiao Tung University
Panagiotis “Panos” Papadimitratos
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Kevyn Collins-Thompson
University of Michigan
Sudeep Pasricha
Colorado State University
Cristina Conati
University of British Columbia
Aaron Quigley
University of New South Wales
Peng Cui
Tsinghua University         
Abhik Roychoudhury
National University of Singapore
Maribel Fernandez
King's College London         
Yuanyuan Tian
IBM Research - Almaden
Vladimir Filkov
University of California, Davis
Hanghang Tong
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jianfeng Gao
Microsoft Research
Anil Kumar Vullikanti
University of Virginia
Song Guo
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Yu Wang
Temple University
Ashish Gupta
De-Nian Yang
Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica
Tracy Anne Hammond
Texas A& University
Laurence T. Yang
St. Francis Xavier University
Gillian R. Hayes
University of California, Irvine
Jieping Ye
Beike & University of Michigan
Bingsheng He
National University of Singapore
Evangeline F.Y. Young
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Sun-Yuan Hsieh
National Cheng Kung University
Hongyu Zhang
University of Newcastle
Adriana Iamnitchi
University of South Florida
Lintao Zhang
Microsoft Research Asia

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file