ACM Recognizes 2021 Distinguished Members for Pivotal Educational, Engineering and Scientific Contributions

Longstanding Members Cited for Trailblazing Achievements across Computing Field

New York, NY, December 15, 2021 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 63 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. All 2021 inductees are longstanding ACM members and were selected by their peers for a range of accomplishments that advance computing as a science and a profession.

“Each year we are excited to recognize a new class of ACM Distinguished Members for their professional achievements, as well as their longstanding membership with ACM,” explains ACM President Gabriele Kotsis. “The Distinguished Members program is a way both to celebrate the trailblazing work of our members, and to underscore how participation with a professional society enhances one’s career growth. This award category also emphasizes how ACM’s worldwide membership is the foundation of our organization.”

The 2021 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions in Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, Chile, China, Germany, India, New Zealand, Norway, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States. ACM Distinguished Members are selected for their contributions in three separate categories: educational, engineering and scientific. The new class of Distinguished Members made advancements in areas including bioinformatics, computer architecture, computer graphics, data science, human-computer interaction, networking and distributed systems, semantic web research, security, and software engineering, among many other areas.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience and significant achievements in the computing field. To be nominated, a candidate must have at least 15 years of professional experience in the computing field, five years of professional ACM membership in the last 10 years, and have achieved a significant level of accomplishment, or made a significant impact in the field of computing, computer science or information technology. A Distinguished Member is expected to have served as a mentor and role model by guiding technical career development and contributing to the field beyond the norm.


For Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing:

Alison Clear
Eastern Institute of Technology     
Kathi Fisler
Brown University
Andrew Luxton-Reilly
University of Auckland
Jane Chu Prey
Ingrid Russell
University of Hartford

For Outstanding Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Cristian Cadar
Imperial College London    
Tawanna R. Dillahunt
University of Michigan
Ponnurangam Kumaraguru
IIIT Hyderabad     
Archan Misra
Singapore Management University     
Felix Naumann
Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam     
Knut Risvik
m.c. schraefel
University of Southampton     
Nalini Venkatasubramanian
University of California, Irvine     

For Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing:

Bo An
Nanyang Technological University
Cecilia Aragon
University of Washington
Marcelo Arenas
Universidad Católica de Chile & IMFD Chile
Rosa M. Badia
Barcelona Supercomputing Center & Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Ranjita Bhagwan
Microsoft Research India
Richard R. Brooks
Clemson University
Supratik Chakraborty
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Jake Y. Chen
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Yingying (Jennifer) Chen
Rutgers University
Zhigang Deng
University of Houston
Rolf Drechsler
University of Bremen, DFKI
Xiaojiang Du
Stevens Institute of Technology
Ashutosh Dutta
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Lab   
Andrea Forte
Drexel University
Marcus Foth
Queensland University of Technology   
Xiaoming Fu
University of Goettingen
Ramaswamy Govindarajan
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
M. Shamim Hossain
King Saud University
Trent Jaeger
Pennsylvania State University
Ira Kemelmacher-Shlizerman
University of Washington, Google
Miryung Kim
University of California, Los Angeles
Jerry Chun-Wei Lin
Western Norway University of Applied Sciences
Yiqun Liu
Tsinghua University
Ujjwal Maulik
Jadavpur University
Donald A. Metzler
Antonija Mitrovic
University of Canterbury
Max Mühlhäuser
Technical University of Darmstadt
Sean Munson
University of Washington
Edmund Nightingale
Karthik Pattabiraman
University of British Columbia
Leo Porter
University of California San Diego
Guo-Jun Qi
OPPO US Research Center
M. Sohel Rahman
Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
Sanjay Rao
Purdue University
Balaraman Ravindran
Indian Institute of Technology Madras         
Katie Ann Siek
Indiana University
Yogesh Simmhan
Indian Institute of Science         
Sriram Subramanian
University College London
Lin Tan
Purdue University
Fei Wang
Cornell University
Xiaofeng Wang
Indiana University Bloomington
Yusu Wang
Halicioglu Data Science Institute & University of California San Diego
Ingmar Weber
Qatar Computing Research Institute, HBKU
Yonggang Wen
Nanyang Technological University
Jie Wu
Temple University
Xiaokui Xiao
National University of Singapore
Chun Jason Xue
City University of Hong Kong
Ke Yi
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Jingyi Yu
ShanghaiTech University
Erez Zadok
Stony Brook University

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file