Association for Computing Machinery Announces Results of Leadership Election

University of Athens Professor Yannis Ioannidis Re-elected ACM President

New York, NY, June 4, 2024 – ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has announced the election of officers who will lead the organization for a two-year term beginning July 1. Yannis Ioannidis has been re-elected ACM President. Ioannidis is Professor of Informatics and Telecommunications at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece. Also re-elected is ACM Vice President Elisa Bertino, Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University. Newly elected as Secretary/Treasurer is Rashmi Mohan, who is currently Director of Engineering at Splunk Inc, where she leads the Enterprise Security (SIEM) Detection and Content Engineering Teams.

In addition, Members-at-Large elected to four-year terms are Odest (Chad) Jenkins, University of Michigan; John Kim, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST); Alison Derbwenick Miller, Tabia Health; Tanara Lauschner, Federal University of the Amazones (UFAM); and Alejandro Saucedo, Zalando SE.

Ioannidis agreed to be nominated for another term as President to continue his work on “ACM 4.0,” his presidential initiative to develop a long-term strategic plan for the organization. ACM 4.0 consists of 10 Presidential Task Forces created to investigate several critical and urgent issues and recommend action plans to address them, including Membership, Globalization, Youthification, UN Sustainable Development, ACM Code of Ethics and Social Responsibility, Open Science, Products and Services Portfolio, Financial Model, Bylaws, and Regional Offices.

“I am humbled and extremely honored to have been elected by my peers to serve another term as President of ACM ,” Ioannidis explained. “I am especially excited to continue the work of ACM 4.0, which has gotten off to a strong start, e.g., with more than 600 people having responded to a relevant open call for volunteers. I am looking forward to continuing my efforts to engage the broad community within ACM, support the work of the Presidential Task Forces until completion, and implement the resulting recommendations toward a renewed ACM that is ready for the challenges of the future and excels in fulfilling its mission.”

Ioannidis is an ACM Fellow whose research focuses on database and information systems, data science, data and text analytics, data infrastructures and digital repositories, recommender systems and personalization, and interactive digital storytelling. An ACM member since 1983, besides being ACM President since July 2022, he has served as ACM Secretary/Treasurer (2018–2020), Special Interest Group on Management of Data (SIGMOD) Chair (2009–2013), and SIGMOD Vice-Chair (2005–2009). He has also served as a member of the ACM Europe Council, the SIG Governing Board Executive Committee, and the ACM Publications Board.

Re-elected ACM Vice President Elisa Bertino has made pioneering contributions to data management, data security theory, and systems for over 30 years. With another term in office, she hopes to guide ACM in addressing questions raised by AI and data ethics, data privacy and sustainability, among other pressing topics. “I will work together with the ACM Executive Committee and the many volunteers and leaders in ACM to make sure the organization plays a central role in fostering discussions and initiatives to answer questions posed by society concerning our technologies,” Bertino said. “I will also focus on important matters, such as broadening diversity in our field, supporting younger researchers and making sure ACM is technically and globally relevant by organizing workshops and conferences on new emerging technologies and applications.”

Bertino was named an ACM Fellow for contributions to secure database systems. Within the data security and privacy field, she is especially known for pioneering innovations in context-based access control and data protection from insider threats. Her recent work focuses on security of cellular networks and IoT systems. Prior to severing as Vice President, Bertino served as Secretary/Treasurer (2020–2022). She also served as Chair of SIGSAC, the ACM Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control (2009–2013) and in 2011, co-founded of the ACM Conference on Data and Application Security and Privacy (CODASPY), which has become the main forum for high-quality research on data privacy and security.

Rashmi Mohan, ACM's newly elected Secretary/Treasurer, contends that each role she has played within ACM has exposed her to deeper learning and given her the opportunity to serve a different subsection of ACM’s membership base. “My goals as Secretary/Treasurer will include helping to create meaningful forums and avenues to bring in students and early career computing professionals, highlighting the strong technical and professional content available through ACM, and devising opportunities to make our accomplished member base accessible to entrepreneurs for mentorship opportunities.”

Mohan has managed, led, and grown teams of engineers and helped deliver complex products both on-premises and in the cloud in the security data analytics domain. Mohan has served on the ACM Council as a Member at Large since 2022, and on the ACM Practitioner Board since 2018. She founded and hosts the popular podcast series ACM ByteCast.

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF File