2018 ACM Distinguished Members Recognized for Contributions that Have Revolutionized How We Live, Work and Play

Major Achievements in Computer Engineering, Education and Science Have Contributed to Some of Today’s Most Exciting Technologies

New York, NY, November 7, 2018—ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 49 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field.  The 2018 Distinguished Members are exemplars for their peers, and represent ACM’s worldwide geographic reach, as well as the exciting range of subdisciplines that constitute today’s technology landscape.

"By honoring these individuals, we highlight the professional achievements behind the technologies that have transformed both our daily lives and society in general,” explains ACM President Cherri M. Pancake. “Each Distinguished Member has also demonstrated a commitment to being part of the professional community through his or her longstanding membership in ACM. These computing leaders really epitomize ACM’s mission of ‘advancing computing as a science and a profession.’"

The 2018 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world. They represent countries including Australia, Canada, Chile, China, France, Germany, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Sweden, the United States and the United Kingdom. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including algorithms, artificial intelligence, computer architecture, computer science education, cybersecurity, graphics, human-computer interaction, and networking.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. 


For Outstanding Contributions to Computing:

Eytan Adar   
University of Michigan   
Niklas Elmqvist
University of Maryland, College Park

For Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing:

Christine Alvarado
University of California, San Diego     
Tim Bell
University of Canterbury
Andrew McGettrick
University of Strathclyde
Lynn Andrea Stein
Olin College of Engineering
Chris Stephenson

For Outstanding Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Kazuaki Ishizaki
IBM Research
Rajkumar Kettimuthu
Argonne National Laboratory and University of Chicago
Stefan Saroiu
Microsoft Research     
Jingdong Wang  
Microsoft Research, Beijing

For Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Computing:

Sven Apel
University of Passau              
Xiaohua Jia
City University of Hong Kong
Brian P. Bailey
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Judy Kay
The University of Sydney
Rajesh Krishna Balan
Singapore Management University
David Kotz
Dartmouth College
Suman Banerjee
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Cliff Lampe
University of Michigan
Emery Berger
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Kevin Leyton-Brown
University of British Columbia
Yi Chang
Jilin University
Chen Li
University of California, Irvine
Marsha Chechik
University of Toronto   
Feifei Li
University of Utah
Lei Chen
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology   
Gonzalo Navarro
University of Chile
Yiran Chen
Duke University
Srihari Nelakuditi
University of South Carolina
Tanzeem Choudhury
Cornell University and HealthRhythms Inc.
Dimitrios S. Nikolopoulos
Queen’s University Belfast
Mats Daniels
Uppsala University
Tetsuya Sakai
Waseda University
Xin Luna Dong
Xipeng Shen
North Carolina State University
Falko Dressler
Paderborn University
Ram Duvvuru Sriram
US National Institute of Standards and Technology
Yun Fu
Northeastern University
Karthikeyan Sundaresan
NEC Laboratories America
Deepak Ganesan
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Jaime Teevan
Jennifer Golbeck
University of Maryland
Renata Teixeira
Indranil Gupta
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Merrill Warkentin
Mississippi State University
Vasant Gajanan Honavar
Pennsylvania State University         
Danfeng (Daphne) Yao
Virginia Tech
Natalie Enright Jerger
University of Toronto         
Yizhou Yu
The University of Hong Kong

About ACM

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. To be selected as an ACM Fellow, a candidate's accomplishments are expected to place him or her among the top 1% of ACM members. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. ACM Distinguished Membership recognizes up to 10% of ACM's top members. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. ACM Senior Member status recognizes the top 25% of ACM Professional Members. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.

Contact: Jim Ormond
[email protected]

Printable PDF file